Book Review: Lies Chelsea Handler Told Me

Lies That Chelsea Handler Told Me

by Chelsea’s family, friends and other victims and Chelsea Handler

Grand Central Publishing

304 pages

I should probably preface this review by explaining that I love Chelsea Handler.  I have read her other three books and even had the opportunity to meet her at a book signing for Are You There Vodka, It’s Me Chelsea.  Somehow it had escaped my notice that she had a fourth book coming out.  I was on my way to work a few weeks ago when I happened to catch Ryan Seacrest interviewing Chelsea as I was flipping through radio stations.  I learned this book was being published that very day, so as soon as my shift was over, I ran to Borders and snagged a copy.

The format of this book is different from that of Handler’s previous books; instead of being written by Chelsea, each chapter is written by a different family member or friend.  As implied  by the title of the book, it is a collection of Chelsea’s antics as recounted by those who know her.

My favorite story had to be the one written by Heather McDonald.

Heather McDonald

Heather is also a comedian and is a regular contributor on Chelsea Lately. Her story is actually mentioned in Chelsea’s previous book Chelsea Chelsea, Bang Bang but in Lies Chelsea Handler Told Me it is told from Heather’s perspective.  The lie, or prank if you will, begins when Chelsea goes to Heather and informs her that Lifetime has asked her to star in a movie about the Challenger explosion.  She is to play the part of the daughter of one of the dead astronauts, and she informs Heather that the script has not yet been written and Lifetime is actually asking for writers from Chelsea’s show to submit their own test scripts.  The person who gets the job will get a hefty salary, so Heather’s interest is piqued.  Chelsea then goes on to tell her that the movie is called The Sky is Crying and is actually meant to be a comedy.  Yes, you read that right–a comedy about the Challenger explosion.  Justin Timberlake is in talks to play Chelsea’s husband in the movie and one of the main plot points is that Chelsea’s mother continues to talk to her and give her advice from heaven.

Heather decides to go for it, so she has to put everything aside and put together a script to submit to Lifetime.  She finally gets a Sunday to herself in order to write, but she is forced to miss a pool party at the Kardashian home.  She is obviously bummed at missing the party, but she is able to make headway on her script. All is, unfortunately, for naught.  Chelsea gleefully tells Heather that she made the entire thing up, and there is no movie.

Overall, this was typical fare for Chelsea.  If you like her show and/or her other books, you’ll get a kick out of it.

Other Reviews:

None that I found.

I purchased this book from Borders.

3 Responses

  1. I didn’t really know anything about Chelsea Handler until yesterday when some coworkers were talking about her. Now I’m curious – this book sounds fun!

  2. Chelsea is wild. have yet to read any of her books but I want to.

  3. I’m reading my first Chelsea book now (My Horizontal Life) and I can tell already that I will want to read more. That is quite the elaborate joke!! I can’t imagine she fell for it … but I guess it is possible that Lifetime might consider a movie like this.

Leave a Reply

