BEA loot

As I mentioned in my last post, I had hoped to go to Half Price Books today.  Basically, I wanted to assuage my disappoint of not being at BEA by buying books.  I don’t know about you, but shopping always makes me feel better, especially if it’s books I am shopping for.  Although I was a tad bit rushed by my grumpy husband who was whining for his lunch, I was very successful.  I got 10 books for $28, which made me feel very proud of myself!

Summer Sisters, Judy Blume: I am pretty sure this is the only Judy Blume book that I haven’t read.  I love her books, so I am sure I will love this one.

High Fidelity, Nick Hornby: My boss recommended this one, so I thought I would give Hornby’s fiction another chance. I absolutely love his column “Stuff I’ve Been Reading” from the literary magazine The Believer, so I want to like it!

Veronica, Mary Gaitskill:  This was a random purchase. I just saw it and thought “why not?”.

The Moonflower Vine, Jetta Carlton: I borrowed this one from the library a few months back and had to return it unread.  I know it is about four sisters, and since I am one of four sisters, it called out to me.

And Then We Came to the End, Joshua Ferris: I have wanted to read this one for a long time.  I think it sounds funny.

I got these five books for $1 apiece.  I couldn’t pass up such great bargains!

Eve, Elissa Elliott: I have had my eye on this one for awhile but I was afraid I would be disappointed, because I am expecting it to be like The Red Tent, which is one of my favorite books, and I suspect it won’t live up to that. At such a good price though, I had to give it a shot.

Life Sentences, Laura Lippman: I am a huge fan of Lippman and this is one of her standalone books that I haven’t read, so it was a no brainer.

The Worst Intentions, Alessandro Piperno: I am pretty sure Europa is the one publisher that I seek out (oh wait–Persephone too).  I wouldn’t have bought this book had I not noticed the Europa insignia, but it sounds really good!

Hideous Kinkiy, Esther Freud: I have had this one on my mental TBR pile for years!

Election, Tom Perotta: Perotta is one of those authors I have been meaning to read for years, but so far I have only read The Abstinence Teacher.

Is anyone else planning on going book shopping to make up for the fact that you’re not at BEA?

7 Responses

  1. I am so excited that you got Then We Came to the End! It is one of my very favorite contemporary reads. I love love love it!

  2. Yep, I bought a lot of books on Friday because I was feeling sorry for myself! I bought them online, though, so they’re not here yet. Soon I hope!

  3. Hi Stephanie! I just came across you site from the Armchair BEA page. I love your blog, and am a new follower! What a great stack of books you bought. It’s funny that you bought Veronica on a whim. I did the exact same thing a couple of weeks ago at a used bookstore. There was just something that drew me to it. Hope you enjoy. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts!

  4. You did great! I read Summer Sisters when it was first released, so I don’t remember much about it, but I do remember liking it.

  5. I like your thinking! This week has been ridiculously crazy for me but maybe I’ll go book shopping this weekend!

  6. What a wonderful way to ‘assuage one’s sorrow’ by not being able to go to BBC or BEA. I, myself, my either books or lipstick when I get discouraged about something (perhaps too strong a word here), but i guess that’s better than buying a stack of Big Macs. Which I also adore!

Leave a Reply

