The Sunday Salon: 5/14/2011

Happy (almost) Sunday everyone! I know I am a day early, but we are leaving bright and early tomorrow morning for Naples, FL, so I won’t have the opportunity (nor the inclination!) to post.

Since my last Sunday Salon, I finished When Will There Be Good News, by Kate Atkinson.  I really did not like it at first, and I almost put it down for good a few times.  The writing seemed amateurish to me, as did the characters, most of which irritated me.  I wouldn’t necessarily say the writing got better, but the story got a lot better and that sucked me in.  I am not sure whether I will read more by Atkinson though.

I also read Lady Susan, by Jane Austen, for the Classics Circuit Austen vs Dickens.  I absolutely loved it.  Lady Susan was one of the best villains I have read in a long time.  I now want to reread Austen’s six novels, all of which I love, with the exception of Sense & Sensibility.

Lastly, I have about 60 pages left of Wigs on the Green, by Nancy Mitford.  I definitely plan on finishing it before vacation, so I can start fresh! This book has quite a political leaning, which made me nervous, but it definitely doesn’t get in the way of the story.  I have yet to read something by Mitford that I didn’t love, and this is no exception!

I hope you all have a great weekend!

4 Responses

  1. Ha! I reviewed the Atkinson today and said how good I thought the writing was, and how much I liked the characters! I guess that’s why there’s lots of books out there – LOL

  2. Lady Susan is on my list after reading the review!

  3. I’m not a huge Atkinson fan but I have one of her newer books on my shelf and I guess that will be the one that makes decide if I continue to read her books or not.

    Hope you have a fantastic vacation!

  4. Hi and thanks for visiting my blog recently 🙂
    I’ve been dithering over Atkinson as I wasn’t sure that I’d like it… after your review I may delay the read or give it a miss altogether.
    Lady Susan sounds fantastic and I look forward to your thoughts about Wigs. I have yet to read a NM but have heard so many good things about her.

Leave a Reply

