April 2011 Reading Recap

I cannot believe it is May already!  April has flown by, and now there is only one month left until summer! My stepdaughter will be out of school in just a few short weeks, with the pool opening at around the same time.  I see a lot of pool lounging in my future.  But I digress . . . on to my reading re cap.

April was an awesome month for me! As many of you know by now, I had a pretty severe reading slump for the first few months of the year, but I came back full force in April. I read 11 books this month, which is a LOT for me.  I have only been working part time, so that has greatly increased my reading time.

I read–

*Faithful Place, Tana French

*Every Secret Thing, Laura Lippman

*Escape, Carolyn Jessop

*The Wrong Mother, Sophie Hannah

*The Report, Jessica Francis Kane

*Little Face, Sophie Hannah

*Brooklyn, Colm Toibin

*Flush, Virginia Woolf

*Foxfire, Joyce Carol Oates

*The Suspicions of Mr Whicher, Kate Summerscale

*The Polysyllabic Spree, Nick Hornby

Quite a lot of mysteries in there! Three nonfiction books too.  I am going to Florida in two weeks (yay!), so hopefully I will get a lot of reading done and May will turn out to be just as good a reading month for me as April was.

How was your month?

8 Responses

  1. Congrats on a pretty awesome month!

  2. Ooh great reading! You got me totally excited about Little Face. I look forward to your reviews of The Polysyllabolic Spree and Btooklyn. (you didn’t already review those right? It’s possible I forgot LOL) what part of Florida are you going to?

  3. Looks like a good month. I have yet to read a Laura Lippman, but know that I should since I hear such good things about her books. And, Nick Hornby is always good, too.

  4. 11 books is a lot. I’m going to be reading Faithful Place soon. So sad that it is the last Tana French book…I hope she is working on another!!!!!! And it scares me that summer vacation is so close! ARGH!!!!

  5. What a great month! I really liked Brooklyn and The Polysyllabic Spree, and have The Suspicions of Mr. Whichler in my tbr pile. The Report is my current book… wish I could just sit and finish it now.

  6. I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts on Escape. I read it last year (or maybe the year before) and it has still stuck with me to this day. All of the things that she went through…it just amazes me. Hope you have another great month of reading in May!

Leave a Reply

