Sunday Salon, 4/24/2011

Happy Easter everyone!

I just returned from my parent’s house, where we had lunch after going to mass this morning.  I had a great day but I admit that I am thrilled to be back at home now, snuggled on my couch in my jammies! The plan for the rest of the day is to catch up on my Google reader and then finish my current book.  I also got some Lush goodies in my Easter basket, so I have a feeling that a nice, relaxing bath is in my future!

As far as my reading this week, it has certainly slowed down compared to the past two weeks.  I finished Brooklyn, by Colm Toibin, which will definitely be one of my favorite reads of 2011.  I absolutely loved it.  Right after that, I read Flush, by Virginia Woolf, which was the short and sweet biographical novel about Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s dog Flush.  I admit to never having read anything by Woolf.  Admittedly, I probably chose the easy way out with Flush, but it was an enjoyable read! Now I am reading Foxfire, by Joyce Carol Oates.  It has been slow going the past few days, and I am unsure if how I feel about the book.  It is certainly not my favorite of Oates, but not my least favorite either.



I know I said that when I came back from blogging, I wouldn’t be reviewing all the books I read over my break, but that turned out to be a lie! I was afraid I would not have retained enough to write a thoughtful review of those books, but so far it hasn’t been a problem.  So unless my feelings change, I will continue to catch up on all my reviews.

I hope that for all of those celebrating, you have a lovely Easter.  And of course, a nice, relaxing Sunday to all!

2 Responses

  1. Glad to hear that you’re having a great Easter! I recently brought Brooklyn so I can’t wait to read your thoughts! Have a great week!

  2. It sounds like a wonderful way to celebrate Easter!

Leave a Reply

