The Sunday Salon, 4/10/2011

It has been three months since my last Sunday Salon, so I should have a lot to post about! Unfortunately, I only have a few minutes before my husband and I have to take my stepdaughter to meet her mother, so this post will be fairly brief.

I have been in a reading slump these past three months, which helps explain my absence.  I don’t even remember all that I read over those three months, but it wasn’t much.  Luckily, I think I broke my streak this week.  It started with Faithful Place, by Tana French.  I would recommend French to anyone in a slump! I tore right through it and was still in the mood for some literary mysteries, so I then read Every Secret Thing, by Laura Lippman.  I really love Lippman and she is always good for an engrossing mystery.

I am now reading Escape, by Carolyn Jessop, which is about the author fleeing the FLDS church.  The reality show Sister Wives, on TLC, is one of my guilty pleasures, so I was interested in reading a memoir showing another viewpoint on polygamy.

As for the read-a-thon, I am bummed I wasn’t able to participate but I had to work all weekend! I have been having fun reading everyone else’s wrap up posts.  I am sure you all are passed out right now.  If not though, enjoy your Sunday!

6 Responses

  1. I should probably read Tana French. My slump has been going on for almost six months now. Ugh! btw, the only reason I put back the French book at the book sale the other day was because it was the 2nd book in the series and I didn’t want to get it before the 1st one. I realize now I really should have just gotten it and then checked the first one out of the library, but I’m not that smart. 😀

  2. I read Escape a few years ago, so I can’t wait to hear what you think! It was the book which inspired me to pick up about five more “polygamy” books.

  3. My slump is ongoing from Sept 2010. I am reading so slowly. I think I have read less than 30 books in the past 7 months…

    That speaks a lot!

    Hope you read and read and read!

  4. Welcome back, Stephanie! Glad you are blogging again 🙂 .

  5. I haven’t read any Tara French books yet, but she is on my mental list! Sorry you couldn’t readathon with us, but maybe next time…. I hope your slump is good and over!

  6. I hate reading slumps too. Glad Tana French was able to help you get out of yours! I can’t believe I still haven’t read this book.

Leave a Reply

