The Sunday Salon: 1/16/2011

Happy Sunday fellow Saloners! I have not been awake for very long (it’s Sunday, after all!), but my plans for the day consist of laundry, cleaning and reading.  The perfect Sunday, in my opinion.

My reading week was kind of fast paced, at least for me.  I read three books–The Polski Affair, by Leon Gildin, What I Thought I Knew, by Alice Eve Cohen and A Thousand Rooms of Dream and Fear, by Atiq Rahimi. They were all three enjoyable but all seemed kind of fleeting.  I think I need to find a longer book to sink my teeth into.

I did try to read Ken and Thelma, by Joel Fletcher, which is a biography about John Kennedy Toole, the author of A Confederacy of Dunces, and his relationship with his mother.  Dunces is one of my top two favorite books (Gone with the Wind being my other fave) and my book club is reading it this month, so I thought the biography would add a bit more to my experience of the book, but it was so boring.  Fletcher just kept focusing on Thelma and what a kook she was.  I felt like Ken was not a focus.  I put it down after about 50 pages–my first DNF of 2011!

I think this week I am going to reread Dunces.  It has been two years since I originally read it and I know, being my favorite book, it deserves a reread.  I confess though, I suck at rereading.  I did it all the time in high school.  You can bet if I liked a book then, I was going to read it at least 3-4 times, but I have fallen out of that and I don’t know how to fix it.  So we’ll see if I make it all the way through Dunces or if I move on to something else.

I hope you all enjoy your Sunday and make sure to let me know what you’ll be reading today!

7 Responses

  1. I need to reread Dunces. I read it in a Satire class in college, but it’s been years and I barely remember it.

  2. Another book I should really read…

  3. I love to reread but don’t do it as often as I used to. I’m in the midst of rereading the Harry Potter series (slowly but surely) and am considering a reread of a series that I am in the middle of. Now if only I could find the time to read all of these books 🙂 Hope you have a great week of reading and find that book that you are looking for!

  4. I love Confederacy of Dunces too! Though I haven’t read it since I was a teen, so it’s one that I’ve been flagging lately thinking I should reread it soon… perhaps 2011 will be its year!

  5. I’ve never been much of a re-reader. I hope you had a great week in books!

  6. I love Dunces! The first time I read it, I developed a really strong hard to break hot dog habit because they showed up so much in the book.

  7. Hey Stephanie, just thinking about you since it’s been awhile since you’ve posted. I hope you’re doing okay. 🙂

Leave a Reply

