TSS: A Day Late, A Dollar Short

First off, I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas.  I meant to post over the past week, but decided not to beat myself up over it, and instead just relax and enjoy my holiday.  I got some great stuff for Christmas.  My husband surprised me with a pair of diamond earrings, which he had wanted to buy me for our wedding last May but at the time, we didn’t have the extra money.  My dad surprised my sisters and me with iPads, which was awesome!  I am a bit technologically impaired, so I have yet to figure out how to work the damn thing, but hopefully soon.

I was also lucky enough to get a box full of books from my parents.  My mom bought tons of stuff from my Borders wishlist, and I could barely stop ogling my box of books all of Christmas day.

Three of the books she bought me were from the Penguin Ink imprint, where tattoo artists created the cover art for some rereleased books.  I thought those were completely awesome!

THEN I used some Christmas money to purchase four Persephone books.  I ordered them earlier today, so they likely won’t arrive for a few weeks, but I will post about them when they get here.  I am new to Persephone books but I wanted to start collecting them.  And then, as you can see by the first picture, my mom surprised me with two Persephone Classics!  She saw them in a little shop and decided to buy them for me with the hope that she could borrow them.  How serendipitous is that??

Now that the hubbub from the holiday is wearing thin, I hope I can get back into my reading groove.  I have another three day weekend coming up, and this time I should have a lot more time for rest and relaxation.  I doubt that my husband and I will go out for New Years, for two reasons.  First reason is that my stepdaughter is in town, spending the whole week with us!  A ten year old kind of cramps your style on the bar scene, if you know what I mean.  Secondly, I hate New Years because I feel like it is always a disappointment.  Sad, but true.  So I am perfectly content to spend New Year’s Eve with my family, hopefully reading.  What will you be up to?

8 Responses

  1. Wow that’s a lot of loot!

    I’m still figuring out my ipad too…

  2. Wow, you got some great gifts! We never do anything for New Year’s. Hamburger is thinking of going out of town on a surf trip, so I might just go to a matinee and early dinner with my mom and call it good.

  3. What a great lot of loot! Great books, happy reading 🙂 No idea what I will be doing yet on NYE, reading perhaps!

  4. Diamond earrings, an iPad and a box of books? Sounds like the perfect Christmas!

  5. What a great Christmas! Love those covers.

    Is it strange that I get more excited over the books than the iPad or the earrings? 🙂

  6. My New Year’s will probably be the same as yours – low key, reading! Your loot looks fantastic. I see American Rust in there, which I loved, and I hope you do too!

  7. Oh goodness you got some great stuff! We got an iPad too but my husband is hoarding that at the moment 🙂

    I can’t wait to hear what Persephones you got. Seriously those gray covers just look fantastic on the shelves. I wish I had more.

    We aren’t big on celebrating New Year’s either. I wouldn’t mind just hanging out and watching a good film at home. Have a wonderful rest of the holiday!

  8. Enjoy all your new books! Hope you had a wonderful Christmas. Wishing you all the best in the new year!

Leave a Reply

