The Sunday Salon, 12/19/2010

Happy Sunday everyone.  Can you believe Christmas is less than a week away??? I am ready for it to be here.  Working retail during the holidays is crazy, so I am ready for it to get back to normal!

I have been doing a little better on the reading front, but not much.  I am working at least 60 hours a week, so my reading time is greatly diminished.  I have about a hundred pages left of Cutting for Stone, by Abraham Verghese, and I would like to finish it today but I am not sure I will have the time.  My book club is meeting to discuss the book on Tuesday, so I definitely need to finish it by then.  I am really excited for our meeting because I think Cutting for Stone will make a lively discussion.  Plus, we are going to meet up at El Vaquero so no one has to worry about hosting or cooking so close to the holidays.  Yum!

I have quite a few books stacking up now and I am anxious to get started on them, so maybe I will try and get some reading done now before heading into work.  I hope everyone has a nice day!

6 Responses

  1. wow 60 hours a lot ,hope you get time off and get to enjoy christmas it seems to have creeped up this year ,all the best stu

  2. 60 hrs a week? Wow, I hope you get a break soon!

  3. Oh goodness, you do need a break! I’m meeting up with my book group on Tuesday too and I haven’t finished the book. Don’t plan to either at this point as it was just getting on my nerves. Hope you get to finish Cutting For Stone. That’s a good one!

  4. That’s a lot of working! This is the first year in the past four I haven’t been working retail at the holidays, and I can’t say I envy you. It’s almost over, though! I just got a copy of Cutting for Stone and am looking forward to it. Enjoy your reading and the meeting!

  5. I’ve been hearing great things about Cutting for Stone and have a copy sitting on my desk but was thinking about gifting it to my stepmom for Christmas since I’m not sure when I’ll get to it.

    Hope this week is a great one for you–I don’t envy any of you retailers but hopefully in the next few weeks you’ll get a nice breath of relaxation!!

  6. I misread your post and thought you said you were working OUT 60 hours a week! But I guess working 60 hours at retail is a workout! Here’s to a nice relaxing holiday for you!

    And I read Cutting for Stone this summer and think it will end up giving your club a bunch to talk about!

Leave a Reply

