The Sunday Salon, 12/12/2010

Happy Sunday everyone!  I am all snuggled up in my bed, just laying about until I have to work later on.  My blogging and reading fell by the wayside for awhile–I didn’t even post a TSS last Sunday, which is very rare for me.  I am happy to say that I am getting back into the swing of things though.  Having two jobs really doesn’t leave as much time for reading, but I will just have to make the time as much as possible!

Since my last TSS, I finished A Ticket to the Circus, by Norris Church Mailer.  My review will be going up this week, but suffice it to say that I loved this book.  A good memoir always captures my interest, and this one was definitely salacious enough to keep my intrigued.  I am now reading Cutting for Stone, by Abraham Verghese.  I purchased it months ago, based on all the great reviews, but I would not have gotten to it anytime soon were it not for the fact that my book club is reading it for our meeting next week.  I am only 200 pages in, but so far the praise is very well deserved.

I doubt I will have much time to read today, between working and my general laziness, but hopefully I will at least get a few chapters read.  I wish I could just stay in bed all day and avoid the snow altogether!

4 Responses

  1. I often wish I could just hang around in bed and read all day! Glad to hear Cutting for Stone is good. I had it out from the library for a while but never got to it. I’m thinking of getting it for my Kindle but haven’t quite decided yet.

  2. it’s nice to be lazy on a day like today. It’s snowing here and a great day to sleep in!

  3. Make no excuses! Bed is an excellent place to hide out especially with a book. Embrace the general laziness! 🙂

  4. I’ve been wanting to read Cutting For Stone myself. I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it. And two jobs is enough to keep anyone busy…good luck and hopefully you’ll find some time to read in there!!

Leave a Reply

