The Sunday Salon: 11/28/2010

Happy Sunday everyone! I hope all my fellow US bloggers had a wonderful Thanksgiving.  I have had a great holiday weekend spending time with my family and eating lots of yummy food.

My first time working Black Friday was surprisingly easy.  I had to be at work at 6am, so that was difficult, but our store didn’t have any sales, so we weren’t insanely busy. I tried to walk around the mall after my shift to do some shopping but the mobs were unbelievable and I gave up.  Good for any of you that were able to brave the masses!

I finished Annie on my Mind this week.   I have been enjoying reading more GLBT fiction this year and this book was no exception.  I thought it was still extremely relevant even though it was written almost thirty years ago.  I then started A Ticket to the Circus, by Norris Church Mailer.  I have had this particular book checked out from the library for what seems like months but then I saw a few days ago that Ms Mailer died and I figured I should pick it up.  I am SO glad I did, because it was just what I needed to get me out of my slump.   I have never actually read anything by Norman Mailer, but I definitely plan to soon.  Have any of you read anything by Mailer?  If so, what are your thoughts?

I hope all of you enjoy your Sunday!

7 Responses

  1. I thought of you Friday morning… glad your day wasn’t too bad. We didn’t go near a store all day.

  2. I wouldn’t go shopping on Black Friday unless I could go buy Alex O’Loughlin for half price. Crazy stuff that day!

    I’ve been reading more GLBT lit since Amanda started the challenge, and it’s really brought some awesome reads. Have you nominated a 2010 GLBT book for the Independent Literary Awards yet???

  3. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed Annie On My Mind and that you’ve been reading more glbtq lit!

    I second Trisha’s nudge to nominate something for the Indie Lit Awards (although the book has to be published 2010).

    🙂

  4. I THIRD the nudge to nominate something for the Indie Lit Awards 😉 So glad to hear that you enjoyed Annie on My Mind, I really liked that book as well. Unfortunately though I haven’t read anything by Mailer.

  5. We just went to the bookstore and that was nice. No malls for me after Thanksgiving! 🙂

  6. Norman Mailer is one of those really scary authors i’ve avoided all my life…

  7. I haven’t read anything by Norman Mailer though I do want to read the book by Norris. Annie on my Mind is a favorite of mine and I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

