The Sunday Salon 11/14/2010

Happy Sunday! It’s getting a bit late here and I am writing my post from my parent’s house since we’ve been here all afternoon (and I only woke up a half hour before we left to come here!).  I could give a million excuses as to why my blogging has been lagging again this week, but we’ve all heard this story before, so I will refrain.

I finished Burning Bright this week, by Tracy Chevalier.  Last Sunday I complained that the book was moving a bit slowly for me.  I am glad to say that the book ended up picking up for me.  I will say that I don’t find it to be as enrapturing as Chevalier’s other books, but her books are so great that this one had high standards to live up to.  Once I finished it, I moved on to What Alice Knew, which I am about 2/3 finished with.  Jen from Devourer of Books recommended it knowing that I appreciate stories involving Jack the Ripper. It is very gripping thus far and I am really appreciating the dichotomy between Alice, William and Henry James (yes, the novelist).  Hopefully I finish it fairly soon as it was due at the library October 30 and I ave been accruing fines for over a week now!

I hope everyone got some good reading done today.  Unfortunately, although I brought my book along, I have not read a single sentence yet today.  I am hoping that I get into the swing of things with my second job soon and I am able to get back to normal with my blogging and reading.

4 Responses

  1. Eek! Library fines are a pain! I always love it when I can just renew a book over and over, lol. 😀

  2. I hope you are having a nice visit with your parents! I am glad Chevalier’s book got better the more you read. That seems to be happening to me a lot lately. I don’t know if it’s me or the books I’m choosing to read . . . Enjoy your week!

  3. You’ll find your stride eventually.

  4. I am SO bad with library fines! But that definitely sounds like an interesting read so I’m sure it will be worth it. And don’t feel bad..my blogging has been weak lately. What can you do???

Leave a Reply

