The Sunday Salon 10/10/10

I am sleepy, I have a headache and I need some coffee.  The day after the read-a-thon is always rough and today is no different! Luckily it’s nothing that some Advil and a hot shower can’t fix.

1. Which hour was most daunting to you? It was 11pm here when I fell asleep.  Was that hour 14? 15? I just could not do it anymore!

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Finding a fast paced YA novel always works well for me.

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? My only suggestion would be to try to pump readers up prior to the read-a-thon.

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? As always, just the sense of community! The cheerleaders were great!

5. How many books did you read? I finished one book that I had already started, then I read three more books, then I read 1/2 of Wintergirls.  Maybe I will finish it today!

6. What were the names of the books you read? Assholes Finish First, Tucker Max, If I Stay, Gayle Forman, Bad Marie, Marcy Dermansky, Gray Horses, Hope Larson, Wintergirls, Laurie Halse Anderson.

7. What book did you enjoy most? That is impossible to answer that.  I loved all the books I read with the exception of Gray Horses.

8. Which did you enjoy least? Gray Horses, by Hope Larson.

9. If you were a cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s cheerleaders? I wasn’t a cheerleader, although I did spend ample time visiting other blogs.

10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? Very 🙂

Here are my final stats:

Total time spent reading: 8 hours and 30 minutes

Total pages read: 803

Total time spent blogging: 2 hours, 39 minutes

This was my second read-a-thon and I definitely participated a bit less this time around, but that was my plan.  I didn’t want to go overboard–I just wanted to keep it fun.  It isn’t fun for me to stay up all night.  I’m lame that way, so when I was ready to go to bed, I went to bed!

I hope everyone enjoyed read-a-thon as much as I did.  Enjoy your Sunday recovering!

14 Responses

  1. Thanks for showing me that I can participate next time *and* sleep!

  2. Cheerleader or not, you really helped by cheering me on! Great job Stephanie! I conked out not long after you did (around 11:45 my time).

  3. Great job!

    Not wanting to stay up all night is not lame! ‘Cause I went to bed during hour 17. 😀

  4. I can’t wait to see what you think of the Tucker Max book as I have one of his sitting on my shelf I’d like to know if I should take the time or not.

  5. I kept up with your progress on your blog. I can’t do this kind of thing during the school year, or I’ll be a zombie at work. Do they have a summer read-a-thon?

    • Unfortunately it is just in the fall and spring. You can still participate though. Not many people make it for a full 24 hours–many people can only participate for a few hours. It is nice, because you can participate as much or as little as you want!

  6. Sounds like you did really great. I packed it in early to get some sleep too 🙂

  7. Congreats on a great read-a-thon. Assholes Finish First? Sounds right up my alley. Going to check that one out! LOL

  8. I took a much more relaxed attitude this year as well, and had more fun. 🙂 I agree with your numbers 2 and 3. Thanks for all of the wonderful comments.

  9. you read a lot more than me I only managed to read for 20 of 24 hours thou ,look forward to your reviews ,all the best stu

  10. I’m with you on the fast-paced YA. Those are the books I got through the smoothest! I’ll definitely be making sure I have more of those around for the next Readathon.

  11. A big part of the readathon is doing what feels right to YOU. So if you have to sleep, sleep! It looks like that contributed to you enjoying yourself more than you would have had you stayed up all night! 🙂

  12. Wow, you read a lot and for longer than I’m able to stay awake during the RAT. I didn’t participate this time because I had a lot going on, but I’m glad to see you had a great time.

  13. I’ve been kicking myself for not participating.

Leave a Reply

