Book Review: I’d Know You Anywhere

I’d Know You Anywhere
Laura Lippman

Harper Collins
384 pages

Eliza Benedict is your typical suburban housewife.  She and her husband have just relocated and they live very comfortably with their teenage daughter Iso and son Albie.  Eliza’s been keeping a secret from pretty much everyone though, including her children.  When she was only 15 years old, and known at the time as Elizabeth Lerner, Eliza was kidnapped and held captive by a serial killer named Walter Bowman.  Walt stumbled upon her one day and kidnapped her, as was his MO.  The only difference was that he always killed his victims, but for some reason he let Eliza live.
Walt has now been on Death Row for decades and Eliza rarely thinks about him.  She has her own life and who she was at fifteen and what happened to her has faded into the background.  Until, one day, she is contacted by Walt.  He wants to speak with Eliza and although she has tried to bury the memories of that summer, she is seriously considering speaking with Walt and even meeting him.
Walter was an interesting character.  He was an enigma to me, only because I was unsure of how to feel about him.  I mean, he was a mass murderer who seemed to have very contrition for the girls he killed, yet I couldn’t hate him.  In fact, for much of the book, I actually felt the teeniest bid badly for him.  There was NO REASON why Eliza/Elizabeth should have spoken to him.  She was the victim and she owed him nothing.  And yet, I couldn’t help wishing for her to meet with him, not because it would make the book more interesting, but because I felt that Walter needed it.  Yes everyone, I got played! /
I can’t even explain to you how much I enjoy Lippman’s books.  Besides this one, I have read What the Dead Know, and while they aren’t the classics by any means, they are such well woven psychological mysteries that I found myself on the edge of my seat, unable to put either one down! I would definitey ancourage anyone not familair with Lippman to try out one of her books.

Other Reviews:

S Krishna’s Books

Books and Movies

Nomad Reader

I purchased this book from a local bookseller, The Book Loft.

This book counts towards the RIP challenge.

6 Responses

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed this one more than I did! I certainly seem to be in the minority who didn’t love it, but I do enjoy Lippman’s writing. Perhaps I’ll check out What the Dead Know and see if it’s more my speed!

  2. This was a terrific read, wasn’t it? Thanks for linking to my review.

  3. Sounds fascinating – I haven’t read any Lippmann, but will definitely keep my eye out for her books…

    Thanks for reviewing (off to the library bookstore with hopes I’ll score one of her books)

  4. Great review! I think I really need to read her books. I have What the Dead Know on my TBR but this one sound really good too. I’ve just been hesitant b/c I’ve seen mixed reviews… but you do make it sound really good!

  5. I wasn’t wild about the Lippman book that I read but this one sounds like I should give her another chance.

  6. Another one I really want to read. I have this one sitting here waiting its turn. I can’t wait to get to it.

Leave a Reply

