Read-a-thon Pile

Here it is . . . my (fairly) final read-a-thon pile.  Sure, I could throw another book or two on the pile, but this is pretty much the gist of it.

Wintergirls, by Laurie Halse Anderson: I loved Fever 1793Speak was ok.  Didn’t quite live up to my expectations.  I still want to read this one though.

What Alice Knew, by Paula Marantz Cohen: I saw this one on Devourer of Books a few weeks ago and wanted to read it ASAP.  It’s about Jack the Ripper–come on now!:

Bad Marie, by Mary Dermansky: This one started making the rounds a few weeks ago and has been getting rave reviews.  Plus, it’s published by Europa, a publisher that I love! ETA: Don’t listen to me, it’s published by Harper Perennial.  I’m still reading it though!

Something Wicked This Way Comes, by Ray Bradbury: I think I may have been the only one that didn’t include this book on my RIP list.  Then I discovered it was about carnies, so I had to pick it up!

The Adoration of Jenna Fox, by Mary Pearson: I added this one because I was looking for YA fiction for the read-a-thon and this has been on my radar for the past year now.

Brady, Brady, by Sherwood and Lloyd Schwarz: My embarrassment for actually wanting to read this book is severe.  What can I say . . .

Nothing Like You, by Lauren Strasnick: Do you ever reserve a book from the library and by the time you pick it up, you have completely forgotten why you checked it out, where you heard about it, what it’s about.  Yeah, that happened to me.

Gray Horses, by Hope Larson: I wanted some graphic novels to break up the monotony, and this one is SLIM.  It will be perfect for when I am sick of reading.

If I Stay, by Gayle Forman: I just really want to read this one.  That is all.

Willow, by Julia Hoban: One of those books that has been on my list for awhile after reading a lot of reviews for it.

Perfect Fifths, by Megan McCafferty: I loved this series but the last book lost me.  I am hoping this one will get me back on track and end the series on a good note.

Stitches, by David Small: I need to read more graphic novels, and this seems like a good one.

Persepolis, by Marjane Satrapi: I think I am the last one to pick this one up.  It feels like the holy grail of graphic novels.  It’s about time I gave in.

I have a lot of pets, but only one that is a complete attention whore.  He never leaves my side and he loves to read with me.  By that I mean he loves to floss his teeth on the edges of my book as I attempt to read.  He will be my unofficial cheerleader.

Have you read any of the books on my list?  If so, what are your thoughts?  Good choice?  Bad choice?

24 Responses

  1. Of these, I have only read If I Stay, which I listened to on audiobook and absolutely adored. It is a super-depressing book, so I recommend sandwiching it between two happier books if you can!

  2. Just finished making (yet another) pile and Bad Marie and If I Stay are among my possibilities too!

  3. Bad Marie is an absolutely fabulous Readathon choice, but it is actually a Harper Perennial book, not Europa, they also published it and have some crazy Ohio distribution I don’t know about.

  4. I’ve read Persepolis! Really liked it, and I’m not a huge graphic book fan. Good read-a-thon choice; it’ll go faster, but it still has lots of substance.

    I really need to pick out my books. It’s a little intimidating! That’s my project for tomorrow…

  5. Like Erin, I’ve read Persepolis and loved it. It’s a great readathon choice.

    And did your cat sign up to be a cheerleader? We can always use more cheerleaders. 😀

  6. I am of the firm belief that cats are a must during the read-a-thon. Especially in the last few hours–they’re excellent makeshift pillows.

  7. Good luck with the read-a-thon, and see you there! Of your list, I’ve only read Persepolis. And I loved that.:)

  8. I enjoyed both Wintergirls and The Adoration of Jenna Fox. See you at the readathon!

  9. Grey Horses is a very interesting graphic novel. I read it during readathon last year. And Jenna Fox I think is a great addition to your pile!

  10. I’m listening to Wintergirls right now and it’s very good–I think I might like it better than Speak? I think it’d be perfect for the readathon! Hope you enjoy

    Your kitty sounds a bit like mine–sometimes I have to hold my book out of reach just so she can’t rub her head on the edges. 🙂

    Have a great readathon! I’m counting down the hours now…!

  11. I loved Wintergirls, and liked The Adoration of Jenna Fox and Persepolis. Those all sound like great choices. Have fun!

  12. Very cute unofficial cheerleader 🙂 And interesting list of books. I hope you enjoy them all!

  13. not 100% sure yet ,got few choices lol ,be deciding tomorrow ,all the best stu

  14. A very impressive list! I don’t have that many books on my pile, but a few audio books are on hand just in case. I think graphic novels are a good way to break up the heavier reading.

    Last year I read Satrapi’s Embroideries for the read-a-thon and it went quickly (but I think Persepolis is much better). Good luck!

  15. I think I’ve only read one of the books on your list, but I’ve some really good things about some of them– particularly Winter Girls. I can’t wait to see what you think about them. Good luck with them all, and it’s awesome you have such a fantastic personal cheerleader!

  16. Great stack of books – I see several titles in there I loved. Have fun!

  17. CHEERS!!! And what is the name of this cat, this unofficial cheerleader who flosses with the pages of your book? 🙂

  18. I haven’t read any of the books on your list-but they look like good ones. Your unofficial cheerleader is adorable.

  19. You definitely have enough for all 24 hours! I hope Wintergirls, Persepolis, or Stitches don’t disappoint! Happy reading!

  20. I don’t have ANY of these books, although “What Alice Knew” is on my wishlist! They look great, though! Good luck on the readathon!

    Julie @ Knitting and Sundries

  21. Wow– does your cat seriously floss his teeth on books? he will be great company in the wee hours of reading!

    Persepolis is a good choice — the only one of your pile I’ve already read, although I have Fever 1793 in my TBR pile (that would have been a good read-a-thon choice for me if I had thought of it!)

  22. What a great choice of books you’ve set yourself up with! I still need to make the decision on what I want to read…and then get to bed so I can get up early!

Leave a Reply

