Some new challenges & events

There are some wonderful events and challenges coming up that I am really excited about.  First up, The Steampunk Challenge, hosted by The Bookeeper.

What is steampunk, you may ask? In a nutshell, it is

a genre of science fiction that typically features steam-powered machinery rather than advanced technology.

New Oxford American Dictionary

From what I could tell, there are no levels, which I like.  I hope to read two books, possibly more, within the next year, as this challenge runs October 2010-October 2011.  The only book I know for sure I want to read is Leviathan, by Scott Westerfield.

Did you sign up for The Steampunk Challenge?  If so, what are you reading?  If not, please feel free to toss some suggestions my way anyway!

The YA-D2 challenge hosted by Bart of Bart’s Bookshelf! This is the second year I am signing up for this challenge.  I have been reading much YA dystopian fiction of late, so this is the perfect excuse to dive back in.  I hope to complete level 2, which means I am attempting to read 2-4 books from October 1-December 19, 2010.  I plan to read some, or all, of the following books.

The Dead and the Gone, Susan Beth Pfeffer

The World we Live in, Susan Beth Pfeffer

A Killing Frost, John Marsden

How I Live Now, Meg Rosoff

Beyond those three, I am not completely sure what else to add to my list.

Did you sign up for YA-D2?  If so, what are you reading?  If not, please feel free to toss some suggestions my way anyway!

Last, but certainly not least, is Dewey’s 24 hour read-a-thon, which commences a week from this coming Saturday, on October 9. Don’t you love that button?

I am busy compiling my list.  It is probably at least 10 books deep right now.  I have been busing coming up with YA and graphic novels to buttress my pile with, as those seem to be two genres that work really well with the read-a-thon.

I am not going to post my read-a-thon pile until late next week, but I am excited to hear what you’re considering reading for the read-a-thon!

7 Responses

  1. I’ve not read a lot of steampunk literature, but I recommend ‘Mortal Engines’ by Philip Reeve. It’s the first book in a quartet (although I think there’s more than four now) of young adult books and it’s excellent. The concept is interesting and the characters are great. Definitely one to look out for.

  2. Steampunk is a genre I know nothing about so I’m going to be watching this with interest!

  3. I know more about steampunk-inspired jewelry and art than books!

    I plan on participating in the 24 hour read-a-thon too, but not to the level I’ve done in the past. It’ll be fun!

  4. I read a great Steampunk book this summer, The Affinity Bridge by George Mann. So cool. Have fun with your challenges and thank you for reminding me about Dewey’s read-a-thon! That is so much fun. Not sure yet if I can participate but going to mark it on the calendar.

  5. Yay for the Readathon! I’ll be one of your cheerleaders that day, so make sure to keep us posted!

  6. I haven’t quite decided if I like steampunk yet, but maybe I need to read a few more before I decide.
    One time for the readathon I had about 25 books picked out. I knew I couldn’t read that many, but it was still fun!

  7. I wouldn’t classify the Last Survivors series as dystopian fiction, but I will say that I loved the heck out of the first two books. I read The Dead and the Gone during last October’s read-a-thon and it was probably the best of the books I read for it. 🙂 The last book was a bit of a letdown for me, but I know plenty of people who adored it.

Leave a Reply

