September Reading Wrap-Up

Some of you may remember that I suffered from a reading slump last month.  I only read seven books, and the majority of them were YA.  This month I read nine books.  Yes, that is only two more books, but I think the quality of my books was so much better this month, so that means more than anything.

Here is what I read:

RIP challenge:

I’d Know You Anywhere, Laura Lippman

Wait Until Twilight, Sang Pak

Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, John Berendt

The Historian, Elizabeth Kostova

Fahrenheit 451, Ray Bradbury

The Dracula Dossier, James Reese

Non RIP

Room, Emma Donoghue

The Sealed Letter, Emma Donoghue

The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie, Muriel Spark

As you can see, the majority of my reading was for the RIP challenge.  I hope to keep that up for October as well.  RIP is my favorite challenge and there is nothing better than curling up with a scary book when fall hits.

My year to date yield is 81 books, so I am definitely on track to hit 100 books before the end of the year.  I think the read-a-thon will definitely help me hit that goal too.  I am hoping to get even more reading done in October!

How was your reading month?

8 Responses

  1. It looks like you had a good month! There are several books on your list that I’m hoping to get to soon. My September was a little slow, between Book Blogger Appreciation Week and moving, but most of the books I got to were great, so I can’t complain!

    I’ve never joined a challenge, but I think I’d like to. It seems like a good way to prioritize reading and get lots of reading done!

  2. Nice!! You will totally hit that 100 book mark! Well done!!

  3. I read nine books too! I wish I could say I was on track for reading 100 books this year but I just don’t think I’m going to make it. Hope you read lots of great stuff in the coming months. Any particular book(s) you want to get to?

  4. a great month by the look ,hope you reach 100 soon ,all the best stu

  5. I never finished Midnight in The Garden of Good and Evil, but I loved The Historian. I read Dracula after that, and really enjoyed having them almost back to back. Several years ago, but it added to the impact I still remember.

  6. I think everyone is going through a reading slump at the moment. I have always wanted to read Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil as I remember the film well, very atmospheric.

  7. September was a great month for you – 9 books and I know for a fact that The Historian is a thick one.

  8. You’re doing fantastic with the RIP challenge! I haven’t read nearly so many – maybe because I don’t like scary books as much. Good luck with your October reading. =)

Leave a Reply

