The Sunday Salon: 9/26/10

Yay, it’s Sunday again!  I am just blogging before brunch.  Sunday brunch is my favorite, and I am so excited to meet up with my family.

This week, I participated in the Fall Catch-Up Read-a-thon.

So, how did I do?  Pretty well, I think.  The whole purpose, for me, was to spend more of my free time reading.  I definitely made reading a priority this week, at least during the week.  I really wasn’t sure how much reading I would get done this weekend, and so far it hasn’t been a lot.  I had planned to finish my current book last night, but then our friends called and asked to go out.  I hope to instead finish my book after brunch today.

I read The Dracula Dossier, by James Reese, Room, by Emma Donoghue and I am almost finished with I’d Know You Anywhere, by Laura Lippman.  I think I would have read a lot more had it not been for The Dracula Dossier.  It wasn’t abnormally long or anything, but there were a ton of footnotes, so it just took a lot longer to read.  Here are my stats:

Monday: 128 pages, 2.5 hours

Tuesday: 163 pages, 3 hours

Wednesday: 255 pages, 2.5 hours

Thursday: 221 pages, 2.5 hours

Friday: 44 pages, 50 minutes

Saturday: 228 pages, 2 hours??

Grand Total: 1009 pages, 13 hours, 20 minutes

I am happy enough with the amount I read and hope to add to it, since today is the last day of the challenge.  Plus, it was fun keeping my stats!

I hope everyone else has a great Sunday as well.  What do you plan on reading today?

11 Responses

  1. The Dracula Dossier sounds good. I like the idea of keeping reading stats like that too. I never do it and I’m always left wondering just how much I read in the end.

  2. Wow you did great!!

  3. Great job on your challenge! I’m mostly napping today, LOL

  4. Looks good! I need a good reading week like that!

  5. I love read-a-thons; I’m really looking forward to Dewey’s on October 9th. They give me a reason to clear my calendar and focus on my books. Something I wish I could do almost every weekend! Aren’t brunches with the family great? I’m so glad you could get together and accomplish all that reading.

  6. It does sound like you did really well! This is something that I should have tried to participate myself as my shelves are overflowing with books that I want/need to read. Congratulations on getting 3 books completed 🙂

  7. It sounds to me like you hit it out of the ballpark on that challenge. 🙂

  8. Nice jobb with the fall challenge! I had a good reading week too and it felt good to sit with a book for a change instead of running to another commitment. 🙂

  9. I hope you enjoyed reading Room (not the subject matter perse, but the writing) – I am looking forward to reading it soon!

  10. What a great week – good job!!

  11. Oh Wow, you are doing great! I was reading quite a few hours in the day during vacation but not so much now that I’m back to the daily grind. Ah well… Hope you continue with your great progress!

Leave a Reply

