BBAW Day #5: Future Treasures

We’ve been visiting each other and getting to know each other better…now is your chance to share what you enjoyed about BBAW and also what your blogging goals are for the next year!

I thought it would be fun to go back and look at my answers from last year to see whether I have made good on those resolutions.

Improve my technical skills

Sadly, I feel like I have barely improved in this category.  I still feel like a novice when it comes to using the general tools of a blog.  I am not sure if this is something I will ever improve on much.  I guess time will tell!

Getting more involved in the blogging community

I feel like I have been more successful with this resolution, seeing as I had only been blogging a month during last year’s BBAW.  I still want to work on this, as meeting other bloggers is one of the most rewarding aspects of being a book blogger.  In that respect, I would like to use Twitter more, as it is such a valuable tool in meeting and speaking with other bloggers.

Participate in more challenges and see what I can handle

I definitely learned early on that challenges are fun to sign up for but not always as fun when it comes to following through.  I don’t like to feel too much pressure and a few months ago I realized that I was starting to feel the pressure from all the challenges I felt obligated to complete, so I went through and weeded the ones out that I wasn’t too interested in.  Now I feel like the challenges I am signed up for worthwhile and I have fun while participating.

I wanted to read 100 books

I actually read 108, so I made good on that resolution.  I definitely hope to read at least 100 books this year, as well, and hopefully more.  Ideally, I would like to read 120 books this year.  I am not sure if it will happen, and I am not going to do anything special to try to ensure that I do.

I would say that my goals for this coming year remain unchanged.  Especially the first two, to connect with other bloggers and learn more technical skills.

What do you hope to accomplish within the next year?

13 Responses

  1. May you continue reading great books!

    Here is my BBAW: Forgotten Treasures post!

  2. How wonderful that you managed to really do the things you wanted to do!

  3. My goal is to visit your blog more often! 🙂

  4. I read 100 books last year, but I don’t think I’m going to make it that far this year. And I’m totally okay with that!

  5. Congrats on your progress! I wish I knew more about the technical stuff, too.

  6. Challenges can be so much fun but also a little stressful. 🙂 Trick is to allow yourself to cheat if need be. Hope you have a great next year!!

  7. Great goals! And very cool that you have made good progress since last year 🙂 I need to get more technical as well, so great one to list.

  8. Please consider this comment your invitation to finish up your BBAW week by adding a link to any reviews you’ve managed to post this week to the Saturday Review of Books at Semicolon this Saturday. Every week book bloggers from all over the blogosphere post links to their reviews and other bloggers and readers check out the reviews and find even more books to add to their wishlists.

    Thanks for blogging and reading and sharing.

  9. I haven’t made any goals, but I really do need to improve my technical skills. I think that’s a great goal!

  10. My goal is 100 books a year too, oh and to improve my technical skills. Some people are a real wizz on blooger and wordpress but I struggle sometimes.

  11. I’d say you’re getting around to other bloggers, especially as you have come to my blog a few times. 😉 Thanks for the visit, and the best to you in your endeavors for the blogging year to come since BBAW. I remember when I set a goal of 100 books to read in a year, especially when I’d considered myself such an avid reader but counted a total of only 57 in the early 2000’s. What’s that?! Now I seem to regularly reach 100, but only since I’ve been blogging about books.

  12. You are having a terrific year; your blog is great!!!

  13. Thanks! and keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

