BBAW Day #4: Forgotten Treasure

Sure we’ve all read about Freedom and Mockingjay but we likely have a book we wish would get more attention by book bloggers, whether it’s a forgotten classic or under marketed contemporary fiction.  This is your chance to tell the community why they should consider reading this book!

I’ve often said I love book blogging because it has opened my eyes to a lot of different books/authors/genres that I would otherwise not have been introduced to.  That said though, sometimes the book blogosphere can be very repetitive, with the same books being mentioned over and over.

One author that I wish I saw mentioned and reviewed more often is Joyce Carol Oates.  I love how different her books are and she’s been one of my favorite authors for the past few years.  Unfortunately, I am guilty of slighting her as well, as I have only read one book by her in the past year.

The Falls, Blonde and My Sister, My Love are all Oates books that I really enjoyed.

What Oates books have you enjoyed?

23 Responses

  1. None so far but a while ago I bought Black Girl White Girl so I am hoping to read it soon

  2. This is on my wishlist. Great highlight!

    Here is my BBAW: Forgotten Treasures post!

  3. I’m kind of embarrassed to say that I’ve never tried her work. It sounds like I need to fix that.

  4. I have to admit I’m terrified of Joyce Carol Oats, literally terrified. Jason once bought a book by her for me and I never could bring myself to read it. Then he later read story compilation of hers about old dead authors that was really creepy and he told me all about the stories, and I’m afraid that cemented in my mind the terrifyiness of Oats…

    • Oooh Jason must have read Wild Nights! I liked most of the stories, especially since they were a twist on real authors. I will be very interested to see whether or not you like JCO.

  5. Oates is so darn prolific, it’s really hard to keep up with her OR catch up on her catalog of titles. I swear I’ll do it one day!

  6. I have to admit that I’ve never read anything by Joyce Carol Oates either. I should really rectify that.

  7. I’ve had Black Girl White Girl sitting on my shelf for ages now (it was a Christmas pressie the Christmas before last (I think)). I really must get to it!

  8. I’ve only read a couple of her books. I liked We Were the Mulvaneys but hated The Gravedigger’s Daughter. I remember liking Rape: A Love Story but don’t remember the details. I snagged her new story collection Sourland at BEA but haven’t read it yet. Was a bit miffed that I waited in line for about an hour to have it signed but she didn’t show.

  9. I’m excited to report that I have a couple books by this author on my tbr shelf! Including Blonde, which I see that you enjoyed 😀 I must read one soon!

    • Blonde is absolutely wonderful. I was skeptical at first because it is based on Marilyn Monroe and I didn’t have much desire to read anything about her. After I finished it, I felt the exact opposite!

  10. I read We Were the Mulvaneys last year, my first JCO. I would like to read Blonde someday.

  11. I’ve only read one book by Joyce Carol Oates, but I hope to change that soon!

  12. I enjoyed We Were the Mulvaneys but I sadly haven’t read anything else yet.

  13. Oh dear….I read Blonde expecting to love it, but I definitely didn’t. I do want to give Oates another try, but I think it’ll take another couple of years for me to get over Blonde. I’ve read a couple of her short stories (inc. the one w/ Marilyn Monroe which I loved and is why I wanted to read Blonde) and liked them though.

  14. The Goddess and Other Women (1974) is my very favorite book of hers. It’s a collection of short stories. Of the novels, I enjoyed You Must Remember This and My Sister, My Love the most. Next up on my TBR shelf is Blonde.

  15. Oh, and Foxfire, about a girl gang in the 1950s or 1960s. I liked that one, too.

  16. I loooove Joyce Carol Oates! I want to work my way through her entire catalog eventually. I’ve listened to two on audio: Big Mouth and Ugly Girl, a YA book, narrated by Hillary Swank and Chad Lowe, and Black Girl, White Girl, which I thought was totally creepy and thought provoking. I also read Blackwater, which is probably my favorite so far.

  17. I have a love/hate relationship with Joyce Carol Oates…but even when I hate her (The Gravedigger’s Daughter) it’s still memorable and interesting. And she seems a little more literary than some others so I always feel a wee bit smarter after I have finished one of her books! (Some may say delusional…I say smarter.)

  18. Oh, I missed this prompt when BBAW was on! I would agree with you on JCO. I also would add that I think more people need to have the pleasure of reading A Plague of Doves by Louise Erdrich, The Commoner by John Burnham Schwartz, and The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver.

  19. Must try this author thanks!

Leave a Reply

