Library Loot: September 15, 2010


Library Loot is a weekly meme hosted by Marg and Claire.

I thought this week would be perfect to post a library loot post because it coincides perfectly with BBAW and the question today, which is:

We invite you to share with us a book or genre you tried due to the influence of another blogger.  What made you cave in to try something new and what was the experience like?

As is normal with my library loot, quite a few of my choices were influenced by bloggers.

Sorry about the quality–I have no camera at the moment, so I had to take the picture with my phone!

The Adoration of Jenna Fox, by Mary Pearson: I can’t pinpoint one particular blogger that inspired me to get this book.  I have seen it everywhere!

Something Wicked this Way Comes, by Ray Bradbury: I have seen this one around a lot too because of the RIP challenge.

Bad Marie, by Marcy Dermansky: There are a few to blame for this one, namely Jen from Devourer of Books, Nicole from Linus’s Blanket, Rebecca from The Book Lady’s Blog and Jenn from Jenn’s Bookshelf.

The Dracula Dossier, by James Reese: This one was Jen from Devourer of Books.  She was kind enough to e-mail me this suggestion after I mentioned in her blog comments that I like reading about Jack the Ripper.

The Long Song, by Andrea Levy: I have been following Jackie’s Booker reviews on Farmlanebooks Book Blog and this one caught my eye.

After the Fall, by Kylie Ladd: I first saw this one on another blog a few months ago and it has popped up now and again since then.

Every.single.book I checked out was mentioned first by another blogger!

What did you checkout from the library this week?

8 Responses

  1. That is a lott of Library Loot. ENJOY. I return so many library books unread and then check them out again…LOL

  2. Interesting picks – I have to admit that I haven’t read any of them! Great to hear that they’re all selections suggested by other bloggers though!

    Enjoy your loot!

  3. I’m the same way…usually every book that I pick up from the library is based in some way off of a book blogger’s recommendation. I love that and I’m so glad that book bloggers continue to expand my reading. Enjoy your loot!

  4. Have to admit The Adoration of Jenna Fox is the only book in your pile I’m actually familiar with. When I read it in 2008, I thought it was one of the most interesting young adult science fiction novels I’d have read in quite a while. Wonder if it would stand up to re-reading?

  5. I can totally relate to this as I am constantly influenced by what others are reading and will spot something that tempts me and then am off to my library’s online catalog to request it. The Levy is also on my list, too! Happy reading!

  6. Most of my reading these days comes from other bloggers recommendations. I read The Long Song earlier this year but was a bit disappointed.

    Enjoy your loot!

  7. I have seen The Adoration of Jenna Fox and Bad Marie everywhere. Enjoy your loot.

  8. Bad Marie is the one in that stack that catches my eye.

Leave a Reply

