BBAW Day #3: Unexpected Treasures

We invite you to share with us a book or genre you tried due to the influence of another blogger.  What made you cave in to try something new and what was the experience like?

Where would my reading be if I did not read book blogs? I can say one thing–it would not be as well rounded and expansive.  Book blogs have opened my eyes to so many different books and genres.  The one at the forefront in my mind is . . .

YA Dystopian Fiction

specifically

The Hunger Games Trilogy

I remember last summer when Catching Fire came out.  It seemed to be featured and/or reviewed on every blog! At first I thought to myself Those books look ridiculous–no way in heck am I reading them!  But then I figured that there must be something worthwhile and entertaining about these books if they were so popular. And the rest is history!

Another genre that I would never have give a second thought to before I started reading book blogs is graphic novels.

I am starting to sound like a snob when I say that this is another genre I would never have given a second glance before I started blogging.  There’s no good reasoning behind that–I just didn’t think graphic novels were “my thing”, coupled with the fact that I had little to no exposure to them.  That all changed when I started reading book blogs, and I eventually gave in and started reading graphic novels.  They’re great for those days where you just need something light and you don’t want to get bogged down by a heavy book.

So, you tell me–what genres and/or books were you introduced to through the blogosphere?

16 Responses

  1. Graphic novels are one of my “unexpected treasures” too. Like you, I’d hadn’t had much exposure to them and never imagined I might actually enjoy one!

  2. I would never have read The Hunger Games if it weren’t for other bloggers!

  3. Oh, good call on the graphic novels!! And I think it’s funny how many people are saying Hunger Games! Esp. since it seems to be everyone’s favorite of the year, haha.

  4. I discovered YA Dystopian Fiction through blogging as well! Have you read any of Susan Beth Pfeffers books? They are what got me hooked on the genre. I loved the Hunger games trilogy!

  5. I always loved comics now known as Graphic novels!

    Here is my BBAW: Unexpected Treasure post!

  6. Yeah the Hunger Games trilogy has definitely spread like fire (no pun intended)! 😀

  7. I love dystopian fiction and graphic novels! AND I love the image in your post for graphic novels – made me laugh. What graphic novels have you found that you have enjoyed?

  8. Excellent choices! I focused more on individual books in my post today because I tackled graphic novels about five years ago. Boy, am I glad I did!

  9. These are definitely two genres that I wouldn’t have ventured into with the influence of bloggers!! Especially Hunger Games which I resisted like mad. 😉

  10. I haven’t tried the Hunger Games yet and I have the same thoughts that they can’t be that good, but maybe I should give them a go.

    Great treasure for today 🙂

  11. Hunger Games sure is getting a lot of love today.

  12. That’s why I love book bloggers. You never know what new you might get introduce to.

  13. Graphic novels are amazing, and just like you, it was the influence of other bloggers which made me read them. Thank heavens!

  14. I read graphic novels before bloggers, but I’ve read a lot more of them since starting to blog. I love getting good recommendations.

  15. I used to ignore graphic novels, too, until my husband introduced them to me. Now, I have great respect for that genre and enjoy a lot of them.:)

  16. Dystopian fiction has always been an endearing sub-genre for me. Off the top of my head is Margaret Atwood. This particular series have been popping all over the book blogging. Many have said they enjoy Morningjay the best this year on the Borders facebook page.

Leave a Reply

