BBAW Day #2:Interview with Anastasia of Birdbrain(ed) Book Blog!

It was my hope that I would get assigned a book blogger I was not familiar with for this interview so I could broaden my horizons and find a new blog that was new to me, so I was very lucky to be assigned Anastasia from Birdbrain(ed) Book Blog.

I love that Anastasia is a student–I can live vicariously through her!  Her site is very fun and fresh and I urge you to head on over and check it out if you are not familiar with her.


How long have you been blogging?  What got you started?

I’ve been book blogging for nearly two years now, but I’ve had other blogs since I was around 13 or so. So, nearly ten years total! I decided to start a book blog really because I wanted some place to keep my answers to book memes– I wasn’t expecting to do a lot of actual book reviewing. Very quickly that changed, and now my blog is nearly all reviews and only a few memes!

If you could only name three favorite books, what would they be?

Charmed Life by Diana Wynne Jones

The Club Dumas by Arturo Perez-Reverte

Swallows and Amazons by Arthur Ransome

I wasn’t expecting that to be so easy!

Who are some of your favorite authors?

Well, obviously the three I named above: Diana Wynne Jones, Arturo Perez-Reverte and Arthur Ransome. But I also really love Roald Dahl, Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett, Jim Butcher, Diane Duane, Madeleine Wickham, Blue Balliett, and Emma Bull.

Clue us in on some of your reading habits.  Where do you like to read?  What genres?

Oh, I read all over, in all sort of genres (except “inspirational”/Christian fiction/most romances). My favorite place is actually on the bus, because I don’t have anything distracting me except bad shocks. But I also enjoy reading outside in the shade– as long as there aren’t too many bugs!

What are some of your least favorite books that you’ve ever read?

Well, I tend not to finish reading books I hate, but the most recent one was Magic Moon (http://bit.ly/bGKIHy), which I REALLY disliked. I also hated Girl Who Owned a City (http://bit.ly/cC8ih8) and Westminster Abby (http://bit.ly/adXzTd). Those are the only books I’ve given 1 or 1.5 bird ratings in the entirety of my blog!

If you had to guess, how many books are in your TBR pile right now?

I’ve been bad and haven’t updated my LibraryThing catalog in a while, but the last time I checked it was around 300. Eek!

What are your favorite books so far that you’ve read in 2010?

Let’s see… I think they are: To the Lighthouse (http://wp.me/pmXiL-1gG), Orlando (http://wp.me/pmXiL-1gY), Meeting Faith: The Forest Journals of a Black Buddhist Nun (http://wp.me/pmXiL-1q9), All the Fishes Come Home to Roost (http://wp.me/pmXiL-1wD), and The Lost Conspiracy (http://wp.me/pmXiL-1vb).

What is the last book that you read, the book you are reading now and the book you plan to read next?

The last book I read was a Doctor Who audiobook called The Day of the Troll, read by David Tennant. It was really good, although Mr Tennat has trouble with female voices. I’m reading two books right now: Charlatan, which is about a famous quack doctor/con artist in the early 20th century (it’s quite slow-going, actually, so I may drop it), and Among Insurgents: Walking Through Burma, which is about this dude who traveled across Burma in the 1980s (it’s exciting, although I got bogged down in the history/explanation of Burma parts).

Next I’m going to read The Shark God, which is about a man who goes to the South Pacific in order to find his cultural roots. Or I might read The Good Thief, because that’s been checked out of the library for several months now and I should really get on it.

What do you like to do outside of blogging?
School and work, mostly! Come December it’ll just be work, then a little bit of travel, and then work again, and then travel again! I’m looking forward to seeing how those changes affect my blogging.

Thank you so much Anastasia!

12 Responses

  1. […] and had to take a little extra time to answer her questions. You can read my interview with here here at her blog, […]

  2. Liked reading about her. She is new to me!

    Here is my BBAW: Interview post!

  3. Interesting to read that David Tennant’s female voices didn’t work well on the Dr Who audio tape. We have him reading several children’s books (Hairy Macary and all the Cressida Cowell ones about Hiccup) and he’s absolutely brilliant. I can’t imagine better readings.

  4. Wow! Ten years of blogging. That’s amazing.

    Interview

  5. I agree that 10 years of blogging is amazing, because I don’t think I had even heard of blogs at all back then!

    Nice interview.

  6. That is so great, ten years! One can hope. I have been wanting to read The Club Dumas, so I am glad to hear that it is good.

  7. I had no idea Anastasia is that young! Great interview!

  8. I love reading these interviews. I have come across more books I want to read.

  9. I loved those questions. 🙂 All of her favorite books are ones I’ve never heard of…I’m off to check them out.

  10. I imagine it would be difficult for a male narrator to pull off doing female voices!! That cracked me up.

    And I can’t imagine doing a blog at 13!!! If I had done that, I would have had to delete it … I was such a melodramatic fool back then!!

    Fun interview!

  11. I’m impressed at Anastasia’s ability to easily name her top three favorite books. Just the thought of that question makes me twitch 😉 Great interview, and great to learn more about Anastasia!

  12. This is why I have a love/hate relationship with BBAW…all these new to me blogs are dangerous to the health of my Google Reader! 😀

Leave a Reply

