BBAW Day 1

We invite you to share with us about a great new book blog you’ve discovered since BBAW last year!  If you are new to BBAW or book blogging, share with us the very first book blog you discovered.  Tell us why this blog rocks your socks off and why you keep going back for more.

I have decided to put my own little twist on this meme and instead just list my top five book blogs.

Jennifer, of The Literate Housewife, is one of the first book bloggers I ever came across.  I remember coming across her blog and all of a sudden it became a catalyst for book blogs in general.  I love Jennifer’s concise reviews and the format of her blog in general.

Devourer of Books

Jen, from Devourer of Books, was the other book blogger that I discovered at the very beginning.  She has always been the type of person that offers help and she is super friendly! I love how her reviews always cut straight to the point.  I trust her judgment with books.

Medieval Bookworm

Meghan’s reviews, which can be found at Medieval Bookworm, are from such an array of genres that I get a taste of everything from her blog.  I am always amazed at the amount of reading Meghan does!

Fizzy Thoughts is the blog of Jill, aka softdrink.  I think you would be hard pressed to find a blog funnier than Jill’s.  I rarely read a post without giggling out loud.  Make sure to watch out for Jill’s songs as she pumps up all the cheerleaders during the read-a-thon next month.

eclectic/eccentric

Trish, of eclectic/eccentric, is one of the friendliest bloggers I have come across.  She is easy to talk to, and that openness really shines through in her posts.  I think Trish’s blog is one of the most relatable out there.

Ok, I know I said I was going to highlight five blogs but I couldn’t narrow it down, so I am breaking my own rules and turning my 5 into 6.

I confess, sometimes I get a little intimidated by Amanda, of The Zen Leaf.  She’s sweet as can be, it’s just that her literary tastes are so refined.   Amanda is constantly posting about books that I have never heard of, and thus broadening my horizons.I love how she is able to open my eyes to different types of literature.

There are so many other book bloggers that I love and respect.  This is just the tip of the iceberg.  If you aren’t familiar with any of these blogs, make sure to check them out, as they’re the best of the best!

17 Responses

  1. these are great blogs! thanks for spotlighting them & reminding me to go check them out!

  2. What a fantastic list of book blogs! I love them all 🙂

  3. Aw, you just made my day! Thank you for mentioning me! I’m in fantastic company as well, you clearly have excellent taste in book blogs (as well as an excellent one of your own!).

  4. How funny – I was going along the list saying “Ooh I love that blog! Oh that’s a great one!” and then suddenly saw my own…I’m sorry I’m intimidating! I so don’t mean to be. I really don’t consider myself refined – I consider myself abnormal! 😀

    • I definitely had to include you, as your blog is one of my favorites. I didn’t mean intimidating in a negative way, only in the sense that your blog is so knowledgable and sophisticated that my blog pales in comparison! Happy BBAW 🙂

  5. And you know what? I wish I hadn’t stuck to the rules and only picked one blog. Sigh.

  6. Gerat choices! I love all those bloggers! And I agree with Amanda, I wish I had picked more than the 2 I did! There are just so many great bloggers out there!

  7. Thanks so much for including me and saying those nice things! I’m feeling so special right now it’s disturbing. You are awesome!

  8. All are great blogs and on my google reader!

    Here is my BBAW: First Treasure post!

  9. Aw, thanks! And it is really funny how many great blogs originally started after reading The Literate Housewife. The blogging community would be much poorer without her.

  10. All wonderful blogs and bloggers! Great list!

  11. Those are some great picks…I read almost all of them daily! I will have to go check out the couple that i don’t though

  12. Those are all great blogs! I’ve had the privilege of meeting a few of those ladies in person and they’re every bit as nice as you think they are.

  13. Yay for the Literate Housewife! She is actually the reason I started blogging in the first place. She and I drove to DC together for the National Book Festival last year and I met a bunch of other book bloggers. She is a wonderful person. I just adore her 🙂

  14. I love all of the blogs you listed, and I’m happy to have found yours as well. Yea BBAW!

  15. Dude! I’m honored!

    Seriously, thanks for the mention, and including me in such a fabulous group of bloggers.

Leave a Reply

