The Sunday Salon

Happy Sunday!  I just woke up and I am just lounging around in bed before hubby and I go run some errands.

This week I finished Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, by John Berendt.  I didn’t realize how affecting this book was until I finished it–it will definitely be among my top books of 2010.

I then read The Prime if Miss Jean Brodie, by Muriel Spark, which I detested.  I just really did not enjoy the writing style and I felt like the characters were poorly written.

I am now reading The Historian, by Elizabeth Kostova.  Coming in at almost 700 pages, it is definitely quite the chunkster!  I am about 250 pages in and loving it so far.  It took me awhile to get acclimated as I knew nothing about Dracula or Vlad the Impaler–in fact, I didn’t even know that that is what The Historian was about!

I am getting so excited for all the fun stuff going on around the blogosphere this fall.  We have BBAW starting tomorrow!!! I love the sense of community that comes along with BBAW and I am very excited to participate for the second year in a row.  I am also getting pumped for Dewey’s 24 hour read-a-thon.  I didn’t get to join in this past April, so it has been a year since I have been able to participate.  I am super excited!

Will you be participating in BBAW and/or the read-a-thon?

11 Responses

  1. I can’t believe I’ve actually read all three books you’ve mentioned… and felt similarly about all three to boot! I feel bad about not loving The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie because people always rave about it, but I really struggled with it and it left me cold. As for the Historian, I think that sadly the first 250 pages are the best and it swiftly went downhill for me. I was so spooked at first, so it was really disappointing when it became rather boring and monotonous… I’ll be curious to see if you feel similarly…

  2. I will be cheerleading for the readathon. Go readers! 😀

  3. I hated the movie version of Midnight in the Garden of Good & Evil, so I’ve been way too scared to try the book. I’d be interested in hearing your thoughts on it. Maybe you can change my mind.

    I’ve never made it through more than a short story by Muriel Spark. Can’t stand her writing.

  4. I’ll be doing stuff for BBAW. I’m going to try to do the Read-a-thon too. I always leave it til the last minute to decide.

  5. I will do the readathon unless something unexpected comes up. We will be are having autumn break.

    I have signed in for BBAW but will post in my own way. I did not nominate any blog and will not do so in future to.

  6. I’ve been meaning to read Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil for so long..the Historian too for that matter…but I never seem to be in the mood to pick up either one. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts.

    I’m excited you’ll be participating in the readathon; it’s my favorite activity of the year!

  7. Can’t wait to hear what you think of The Historian; I haven’t read it yet but it has been recommended to me so many times by book buffs

  8. I am definitely excited about the Readathon. Need to start gathering books.

    Here’s my Sunday Salon post. I’d love to have you stop by. http://www.readerbuzz.blogspot.com

  9. Looking forward to your thoughts on The Historian. I’ve heard some pretty good things about it.

    Sorry you didn’t enjoy Prime of Miss Jean Brodie – it was going to be the Spark I was planning to read next (either this or The Driver’s Seat).

  10. I really liked Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, too!

  11. I really loved The Historian when I read it– one part in particular really creeped me out. (Have you gotten to the train part yet?)

    So many yays for the read-a-thon. I’m super stoked for it.

Leave a Reply

