The Sunday Salon

Happy Sunday everyone!  I can’t even explain how happy I am to have a three day weekend.  Especially since it is our weekend to have my stepdaughter–now we have her three days instead of two! We went to my parent’s lake house yesterday morning and just got back.  It was nice and relaxing–I hope the remainder of the weekend is the same!

I am also really happy because I*think* my reading slump really is over.  Hopefully I didn’t just jinx myself by typing that. I think part of it can be attributed to the RIP V challenge.

The RIP challenge is undoubtedly my favorite challenge all year.  I already read one book for the challenge this week–Wait Until Twilight, by Sang Pak–and I am now reading Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, by John Berendt.  At this rate, I will go way over the four books that I signed up for.

This week, I also read The Sealed Letter, by Emma Donoghue.  My library doesn’t have its copies of Room in yet, so I figured I would go with a different Donoghue.

I found another challenge/event to join–

My problem is that I get off of work and inevitably find stuff to do other than read.  Clean, cook, watch TV . . . by the time I get around to reading, I am too tired to read much.  So I figured for the week of this catch-up read-a-thon, I will make reading my number one priority after work.  It will be nice to have a week where there are no excuses.  Let’s not kid ourselves though, I will likely have to do some cleaning and cooking anyway 😉

So that’s what has been going on with me this week.  How about everyone else–did you have a good reading week?

13 Responses

  1. Happy Sunday to you. I’m curious about Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, so I look forward to your post on it.

  2. The RIP challenge does seem to be extremely popular – I hope you have a lot of fun with it!

  3. Good luck with the RIP challenge! You’re doing great so far! 🙂

    The catch-up challenge is a good idea. It’s just that I’m home most of the day, so I wouldn’t want to spend a whole week just reading. But committing time after work is a great idea. Hope it works for you.

  4. The RIP challenge I think effectively breaks a lot of peoples’ reading slumps! It’s just so wonderful and evokes a great feeling.

  5. ENJOY RIP V. I love this challenge.

  6. I’ve never read The Sealed Letter. Good one!

  7. kate Morton rocks also by the way! Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  8. RIP is definitely the best challenge of the year!

  9. Good luck with the challenge and the readathon!

  10. Have a RIPing time!

    Here is my Sunday Salon post!

    Do check out the books I already read for RIP V. Also you will find my tentative read list.

  11. I think my book slump is over now too. I will have to sign up for the catch up challenge. It might motivate me to read faster and and longer.

  12. I think I am going to do that Catch Up Read-a-thon, too!

  13. I think I may do the Catch Up Readathon too for exactly the same reasons you said! If only I had a maid!

Leave a Reply

