August Wrap Up

Where did the month go? I swear, it feels like July just ended and now we’re going into fall? Today when I went in to Starbucks, I noticed they have their fall drinks out! But anyway, I digress . . .

So, how was my reading in August?  Not great, I’ll tell you that much! My reading has been slacking like no one’s business this past summer.I read only seven books in August.  They are as follows:

YA Fiction:

The First Part Last, Angela Johnson

Mockingjay, Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire, Suzanne Coolins

In a Heartbeat, Loretta Ellsworth

Nonfiction:

Cleo, Helen Brown

Georgette Heyer’s Regency World, Jennifer Kloester

Fiction:

Fingersmith, Sarah Waters

Although Mockingjay was great, as were all the other books I read this month, my favorite book from August had to have been Fingersmith.  If you haven’t read anything by Waters,you need to make it a priority.

The fact that more than half of the books I read were YA is even more embarrassing, as it takes me a fraction of the time to read YA novels.  Hopefully September will be a much better reading month for me!

How did everyone else do this month?

14 Responses

  1. I know! I cannot believe that tomorrow is September. I’ve even seen stuff out for Halloween, which is just wrong.

  2. I should finish a book tonight (keeping my fingers crossed!) but still my total number is pretty low. I’m looking forward to my vacation in a few days and hopefully catching up on some of my reading. Hope September is a great reading month for you!

  3. Fingersmith is still my best book of the year! It was just so wonderful!

  4. I’ve still only read one of Waters’ books, I need to rectify that!

  5. August has been the shortest month ever for me. Where did it go? Is this an omen of things to come?

    I did not finish much in August, but I was reading the very long Three Musketeers. That took a while.

  6. The month just flew by! I don’t keep track of books by months, so I’m not sure how I did, but you had a great month!

  7. Oooo – I missed your Cleo review. Gotta see what that’s abt. Happy September!?

  8. uh, Cleo wasn’t what I thought it was but I hope you enjoyed it. And, are you moving your personal Booker challenge up? Want to read The Sea together?

    • My review of Cleo will be up tomorrow, so then you’ll know all about it!

      My Booker challenge went through the window after I had two clunkers in a row (February and The Inheritence of Loss). I was sick and that really threw me through a loop because I had no concentration. That being said, I would love to read The Sea with you. When do you want to start?

  9. Sigh. I can’t believe summer is over. But, on the bright side, I do love fall! Anyway, you did quite well this month compared to my abysmal three books read. I always tend to be dissatisfied with my monthly numbers, but at least we’re reading something!

  10. You can’t call it a bad reading month if you read “Fingersmith!” I read that earlier this year and it rocked my socks off!! I love a good twisty turny book and that is one of the twistiest I’ve ever read!

  11. I have not read any of those. Don’t know if I will pick any of the Suzanne Collins novels. but she sure seems very popular!

    I too hope September is better. I started it with a crime fiction! LOL!

    Here is my August Wrap Up post!

  12. i have Fingersmith on my shelf and need to stop dilly-dallying and pick it up already!

Leave a Reply

