Sunday Salon

Happy Sunday all!  I had hoped to get my post up earlier today but I slept in and then we had to go to a birthday party.  We just got back though and we have no plans or obligations for the rest of the day, a prospect that my husband is overly excited about!

My week in reading has been abysmal.  I thought my slump had passed but oh, was I wrong!  Part of the problem was that I was sick Monday.  I had to take a day off of work, which ordinarily would leave me with a lot of reading time.  In fact, I often secretly wish to be sick enough to call off of work but not too sick to lay about in bed all day reading.  Unfortunately, this time I was too sick to do any reading.  I felt too sick to even watch TV, so I just laid in bed dozing in and out of sleep.  The week didn’t get much better from there.

I was fickle with my reading and nothing could grab my attention.  I must have picked up four or five books over the week.  I even gave up on The Inheritance of Loss 200 pages in.  Hopefully I will pick it up again but, at this point there’s no guarantee.  However, I may now be out of my slump.  What did the trick, you may ask?

For some reason, I was going to put this one off.  Maybe I like to torture myself? But then my husband had to work all day yesterday and I had the entire day to myself, so I figured I should give in and read it.  We had plans last night so I had to leave the house with about 50 pages left.  We didn’t get home until 1AM and I was pretty tired, but there was no way I was going to sleep without reading the end! All in all, I was very pleased with Mockingjay and I am glad I read it instead of waiting.

So now my quandary is what to read now.  Will it compare to Mockingjay?

3 Responses

  1. I wouldn’t beat yourself up about dropping The Inheritance of Loss – I read about 150 pp and then put it down because despite reading that much, I wasn’t really hooked and I never thought of it again. So even if you were in a slump, I say that part of your problem was surely the book!

  2. I found myself driving to the bookstore yesterday, almost like I was in a trance, and I returned home with Mockingjay. I’m reading it today.

    The bad thing about reading a fantastic book is trying to find another book that is going to be equally fantastic to read!

    I’d love to have you stop by my blog today. I just finished Three Musketeers.

  3. More Mockingjay!!! I really need to get Hunger Games and see what’s up with this story. 🙂

Leave a Reply

