Book Review: Catching Fire

Catching Fire

Suzanne Collins

Scholastic Press

400 pages

So I could have possibly been the last person around to read Catching Fire.  I have no real excuse to offer, so I will just go on ahead to my review. First though, two disclaimers–

1. You have probably read a million reviews for this book, so my synopsis will be short and to the point.

2. If you have not read The Hunger Games, this review may quite possibly contain spoilers.

Katniss Everdeen won the last Hunger Games, along with Peeta, but the government is not pleased with Katniss’ shenanigans and they are ready to make her pay.  She believes that she can downplay the issue by pretending to be in love and in a relationship with Peeta.

So we have Katniss walking a fine line between staying true to herself and following the commands of President Snow.  And then, the unbelievable happens . . . another Hunger Games! Yada yada yada, you get the gist.

Catching Fire is comparable to The Hunger Games in terms of entertainment value.  I was gripped throughout, especially during the second half of the book that actually focused on the games.  Usually with series, I can point out one of the books as my favorite, however, with this series I would say they were equal, which is rare for me.

As much as I enjoy these books, I am too ambivalent about both Gale and Peeta to pick a “team”.  For whatever reason, I am not that emotionally involved with the series to the point where I have any feelings towards the characters.

Regardless though, I plan on reading Mockingjay pretty soon.  I was sure that it would take me forever to get a copy of it from my library since I am #96 on the waitlist, but my library system ordered 220 copies so I already got a notification that it is ready for pick up!

I am not even going to bother linking any other reviews, as I am sure anyone who is reading this review has already read millions of other reviews on this same book!

I purchased this book from B&N.

One Response

  1. Can’t wait to see your thoughts on Mockingjay!!

Leave a comment