The Sunday Salon

Happy Sunday! I just woke up about 20 minutes ago and I am going to have to get out of bed soon and make some mac and cheese for our niece’s birthday cookout later this afternoon.

My own birthday is tomorrow (27, here I come!), and my husband was thoughtful enough to buy me a hot pink Sony Vaio netbook as a gift.  It was also a gift to himself, as he was sick of me using his work laptop. I was afraid the netbook might be too small but it took no getting used to–it is easy to us e and I haven’t had any issues with its size. I am also using my birthday money to go to a local indie bookstore, The Book Loft, tomorrow and I am meeting my parents and one of my sisters for dinner at Brio, so I am excited!

As for my reading . . . it has not been going well this week.  When I left you last Sunday, I was reading both February, by Lisa Moore and The Zookeeper’s Wife, by Diane Ackerman.  Since that post, both books have moved to the DNF pile.  Two DNF books in one week is unheard of for me! With February, which was longlisted for the Booker this year, I just hated the writing style.  It was too poetic and too flowy and the story ended up getting lost.  With The Zookeeper’s Wife, which I was reading for my bookclub, I was not expecting nonfiction.  I thought it would be historical fiction, and I just could not get into the book after that.  Also, I am kind of sick of reading about the Holocaust at this point.  I need a break!  So I put them both down in favor of The Inheritance of Loss, by Kiran Desai.  Thankfully I am having much more luck with this one and will hopefully finish it soon.

I hope everyone enjoys their Sunday!

10 Responses

  1. Wish you happy birthday, in advance. I have been meaning to buy a laptop but somehow haven’t done that as yet. Have a great time with your netbook!

    I have not read a single book this past book. Today I read around 30 pages.

    I bought The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai in 2006. Yet to pick it up!

    Here is my Sunday Salon post!

  2. Early wishes for a Happy Birthday! What a great gift from your husband…he sounds like a keeper 🙂 Too bad about The Zookeeper’s Wife. I keep wanting to read it, but something else always looks more appealing when it’s time to choose.

  3. Happy birthday! I think a pink laptop is exactly the perfect gift, no matter what the occasion!

  4. I love your blog. Sad to hear about your thoughts on February; I’m off to my local indie bookstore tomorrow too and that book is at the top of my shopping list! Oh well, I’ll give it a go. Happy birthday 🙂

  5. Happy birthday today, and I’m terribly envious of your netbook! I was looking at them yesterday and thinking, “this would be the perfect thing to take to work and be able to work on my grading for my second job.” I want to take my current laptop with me, but it’s very large and clunky.

    Enjoy your day! Sorry to hear about the DNFs and I hope your luck improves!

  6. Happy birthday!! It sounds like you got a wonderful gift that you’ll get a lot of use out of.

  7. Happy Birthday! I’ve always wondered if a netbook would be too small … glad to hear it isn’t too bad!

    And I think you can only read so many Holocaust-themed books before needing a break. Hope your reading gets a bit more rewarding soon.

  8. Happy belated birthday! I hope you had a lovely day.

    I hope The Inheritance of Loss does work for you! That’s one I’ve been meaning to read myself.

  9. Happy belated birthday!!

  10. Ack! I’m behind on my reader and several days late, but happy birthday anyway!!

Leave a Reply

