Book Review: Letter to my Daughter

Letter to my Daughter

George Bishop

Ballantine Books

160 pages

Letter to my Daughter is, just as the name implies, a long letter from Laura to her daughter Liz.  Liz has run away from home after fighting with her parents, and Laura is anxiously waiting for her to come home.  She spends a lot of time composing a long letter to Liz.  As is common with mothers and teenage daughters, there is a great divide between Laura and Liz–one that seems impassable.  Neither of them ever say the right thing and every conversation ends in argument, so Laura instead takes the time to explain all her feelings to Liz in the letter.

You know how, as teenagers, we always swear we’ll never turn out like our own mom?  Such was Laura’s promise as a teenager.  After being caught by her parents with a local boy in high school, she was sent away to a Catholic boarding school.  Despite her deep feelings for her high school boyfriend, her parents refuse to discuss the issue with her, instead alientating themselves even more from their own daughter. 

Laura is able to do on paper what she can’t do in real life–connect with Liz.  We have all been teenagers once, and kids need to know that their parents know what they’re going through and have, at one point, lived through the same type of situations. 

I, for one, always thought my mom was out to get me when I was a teenager.  I could never understand that every punishment or guideline was coming only from her love for me.  Since then, I have realized that I will very likely be a similar parent.  So if you were ever a teenager, especially one that butted heads with your mother, I think you’ll realte very well to this book.  It is an important reminder to be open with your kids before it is too late and your relationship spirals out of control.

Other Reviews:

Rundpinne

Books and Movies

Lit and Life

Bibliophile by the Sea

My Cozy Book Nook

BermudaOnion’s Weblog

I borrowed this book from my local library.

3 Responses

  1. I liked this book a lot too – sometimes it easier to express your thoughts in writing. Thanks for linking to my review.

  2. This sounds interesting, though I always had a good relationship with my mom so I doubt i would connect on that level. Still, sounds like a powerful book.

  3. I liked this one, too – thanks for linking to my review!

Leave a Reply

