The Sunday Salon

Happy Sunday all!  I admit, I have done absolutely nothing this weekend.  Yesterday I was out of my bed for maybe two hours.  That gave me a lot of reading time though, which is what I had wanted.  I just love having a day with absolutely no obligations.  However, I think I OD’d on sleep, so I am trying to make up for my laziness today!

So, with all my laying about yesterday, I finished Fingersmith, by Sarah Waters.  This poses a big issue only because I am having a hard time finding a book to follow it up with, it was THAT good.  It is only the second book of Waters’ that I have ever read, and that is tragic.  I need to seek out all of her books ASAP!

So, I am supposed to be starting off on my Booker challenge, which I mentioned in my post last Sunday–I want to spend the next two weeks reading from this years longlist or winners from previous years.  Unfortunately, I forgot I need to read my book club book for our meeting on the 27th–The Zookeeper’s Wife, by Diane Ackerman.  So I started it yesterday, but . . . it just wasn’t striking me.  I was not in the mood for non fiction, I guess.  So I started February, by Lisa Moore, which was longlisted for this year’s Booker.  The writing style is a little too disjointed for me, so I wasn’t completely onboard with this one either.  So we’ll see where my reading goes today.

So that’s where my reading is at this point–to make up for my lazy day yesterday, I probably won’t get as much reading done today, as I have some household chores to catch up on.  I hope everyone else will get some reading done though!

5 Responses

  1. It sounds like you had a wonderful day yesterday. I’ve always wanted to read something by Waters but have yet to pick anything of hers up yet. Hope that you get some reading done as well!

  2. What’s the other Waters book you’ve read? I really need to give her a second chance.

    I’ve heard fairly blah reviews about The Zookeeper’s Wife.

  3. I liked, but didn’t love Zookeeper’s Wife. Disappointing. It just didn’t hit me that hard while I was reading it. I read it for a bookgroup. If I hadn’t been reading it for the group, I think I might have given up on it and moved on.

  4. Staying in bed all day sure sounds good to me!! I bought The Zookeeper’s Wife last summer but haven’t gotten to it yet… tried to pitch it to my book club, but they weren’t too interested. Will get to it one of these days…let me know what you group thinks.

  5. There’s nothing wrong with a lazy day! 🙂

    I need to read Fingersmith. Sarah Waters is wonderful. It’s been a while since I read one of her books.

Leave a Reply

