Recent Acquisitions

I went to Barnes & Noble last week and wonder of all wonders, I actually controlled myself.  I only bought one and a half books.  One and a half, you may ask.  Well, my husband chose the first book for us both to read, and now that Amanda at The Zen Leaf is hosting a read-a-long, it seems that he made the perfect choice.

Seriously, how can you pass up the B&N Classics?  They are so affordable that there is no reason to pass them up.

No way could I pass up the new Tana French book!  I have had my eye out for it since it was published a few weeks ago.

Now this last book was sent to me in the mail, sent to me as a surprise from my mom since I had told her my book club was reading it for October and that the waitlist at my library was SUPER long.  What a nice mom!!

Anyone else get some good books recently?

7 Responses

  1. So glad you’ll be joining in the read-along, too!

  2. I’m buying The Agency: Body at the Tower.

  3. Ooh, I’m glad to see you’ll be joining the Read-a-long! I’m really looking forward to it, I hope you are too!

  4. I have some B and N classics, too! They really are priced very well. I have found, though, that if it is a translated work, it might not be the best version out there. No worries with Charles Dickens, as he wrote in English :-).

    And, how nice of your mom to send you a copy of your book club book for October!

  5. Hah! I like how you justify that 1/2 book.

  6. I love the B&N classic editions! I try to treat myself to those when they have them on sale – buy 2, get one free!

    Have you started A Faithful Place yet? It’s getting rave reviews. I really want to read that one.

  7. I have that same copy of Bleak House and so far I really wish I had a different edition. There are too many footnotes and references for my taste and I find them distracting, as well as the type-face. I’m going to see if I can borrow the Kindle back from my husband for awhile to read that way!

Leave a Reply

