Sunday Salon

Happy Sunday all! I am just going to jump straight into my new plan for the last two weeks of August–

So the longlist for the Booker award were announced a week ago.  This excites me greatly—I have no explanation as to why, because I haven’t heard of a lot of the books and, as much as I want to read them every year when they are announced, I never do.  In fact, I never read more than one or two.  Not to mention that I have fallen behind in the Booker challenge.  I signed up for the Winner’s Circle category, meaning that I agreed to read six books that had one the Booker.  So far, I have read The Gathering, by Ann Enright.  It was not good, meaning, I thought it sucked.  Then I tried to tackle Wolf Hall—I even joined a read-a-long.  Sadly, I am thinking that may remain a DNF forever.  So I really need to get my butt in gear and read five more Booker winners (and hopefully they’ll be good this time!).  To help me, I have decided to devote two weeks to read nothing but Booker winners.  I will also throw in a few from the longlist this year.  For those of you who haven’t seen the list, here it is:

Peter Carey Parrot and Olivier in America

Emma Donoghue Room

Helen Dunmore The Betrayal

Damon Galgut In a Strange Room

Howard Jacobson The Finkler Question

Andrea Levy The Long Song

Tom McCarthy C

David Mitchell The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet 

Lisa Moore February

Paul Murray Skippy Dies

Rose Tremain Trespass

Christos Tsiolkas The Slap

Alan Warner The Stars in the Bright Sky

The two weeks I have chosen are August 16-30.  Hell, may as well just throw in August 31 while I am at it.  My reading has been pretty slow lately, so I don’t expect to complete the challenge, but it will be nice to have two weeks to focus completely on Booker wins.  Here are some on my TBR pile—

-Room, by Emma Donoghue

-February, by Lisa Moore

-Skippy Dies, by Paul Murray

-The Slap, by Chris Tsiolkas

-The White Tiger, Aravind Adiga

-The Inheritance of Loss, Kiran Desai

-The Sea, John Banville

-Disgrace, JM Coetzee

-The God of Small Things, Arundhati Roy

So there you have it.  It is more books than I usually read in one month, let alone two weeks, but I will just emjoy myself and however many I read off the list will be a plus.    If anyone wants to join me, feel free!

Ok, on to my reading from this week.  I read Catching Fire, by Suzanne Collins, in order to get ready for the release of Mockingjay.  I can’t believe I waited so long to read the second book in the series!  I also read In a Heartbeat, by Loretta Ellsworth.  Last night, I started Cleo, by Helen Brown–a memoir about a family cat that helped mend the wounds of a family.  Sounds a bit hokey, but I was enthralled.  I would have read the whole thing in one sitting had my eyes not failed on me, so I will be reading the final 60 pages this morning, alongside my husband, who is equally sucked in by The Passage, by Justin Cronin.  I bought it for him after seeing all the reviews on other blogs–I knew it would be right up his alley and I was right!

I hope everyone else has a relaxing Sunday with lots of reading!

5 Responses

  1. Have fun with your Booker challenge. I hope to read Room soon myself.

  2. I won’t let myself look at prize lists since I already have so many books on my TBR stacks. 🙂 Good luck with the challenge!

  3. I have enjoyed all the Booker books I’ve read ,not that there are many… Have fun reading!

  4. I always feel so sad when I see lists like those because I never recognize any of the books. In this case, I recognize Room and that’s all.

  5. Yeah! It is great to see that you are planning to read the Bookers 🙂 I hope that you enjoy them!

Leave a Reply

