Book Review: My Fair Lazy

My Fair Lazy

Jen Lancaster

NAL Hardcover

384 pages

I feel like I need to give a disclaimer before you get into my review.  I have never read any of Jen Lancaster’s books.  Weird, right?  I know her other books have been bestsellers but I just never picked one up, despite my penchant for memoirs by funny women–Chelsea Handler, Laurie Notaro . . . you get the picture.  So anyway, I can’t tell you how My Fair Lazy compares to Lancaster’s other books.

Anyhoo . . . onto my review.  I picked up My Fair Lazy for one reason and one reason only.  I love reality TV.  We all have our vices, and reality TV is mine.  If I’m not reading, you can bet I am catching some of my favorite shows.  Usually the trashiest, most crass shows are my favorite.  Can I get a hell yeah for the premiere of Big Brother this week?

So I guess I was a little let down, because while there were many references to reality TV shows in this book, they were just tiny tidbits thrown in here and there.  The premise of the book was more about Lancaster’s attempts at a Jenaissance, which means, in short, she was trying to get away from her reality TV addiction and instead spend her time having more worthwhile endeavors, such as trying out different cuisines and going to the opera.  I may need more “culture” myself, but I am happy for now spending my time watching Flava Flav and New York try to find love, so I got a little sick of Lancaster’s attempts at her Jenaissance. 

I am guessing that fans of Lancaster’s earlier books will enjoy this one.  It is a fun summer read.  I think if I had gone into it with a different mindset and not have expected something completely different, I would have enjoyed it more.  I suppose I will have to go back to Chuck Klosterman in order to find an expose on pop culture!

Other Reviews:

A Novel Menagerie

S Krishna’s Books

Book Magic

I borrowed this book from my local library.

2 Responses

  1. Just looking at the cover makes me think it’s a light summer read. 🙂 I’m not as into reality tv as you probably are, but I do have an addiction to a few reality shows (The Biggest Loser, America’s Next Top Model and to Food Network Star show).

  2. Thank you for cross posting my review!

Leave a Reply

