The Sunday Salon

Happy Sunday and 4th of July everyone!  I hope everyone is having a wonderful holiday.

Today is the only day of the 3 day weekend that my husband and I have no obligations.  We were out and about both last night and Friday night, so we are taking it easy today.  We woke up this morning, grabbed some coffee and breakfast, and hopped back in to bed to read all morning.  This is one of the reasons I love my husband–spending the morning reading is not on his list of fun things to do, but I got him The Boneman’s Daughter to read and he is giving it his best effort.

This week has been fairly decent for me.  I read My Fair Lazy, by Jen Lancaster, as well as I Now Pronounce You Someone Else, by Erin McCahan and finished a graphic novel, Shortcomings, by Adrian Tomine.

I am now reading three books simultaneously, which is not the norm for me but we’ll see if multi-reading works out for me–How to Mellify a Corpse, by Vicki Leon, The Brothers Karamazov, and I am starting Imperfect Birds, by Anne Lamott. 

I’m now off to catch up on my Google Reader.  Then I will be back to my reading.  I hope everyone enjoys their holiday!

6 Responses

  1. Happy fourth of July! I also spent the morning reading in bed with my husband – it’s just so nice to have a lazy Sunday every once in a while. Enjoy the rest of your day!

  2. Happy Fourth!! 🙂 Hope you had a great day.

  3. It sounds like a lovely way to spend a holiday. I avoided the crowds and never left the house. 😀

  4. Every long weekend needs one ‘quiet day’! Hope you had a good one.

  5. Spending the morning reading in bed sounds wonderful. My hubby’s not a big reader either, but when he gets into a book, watch out!

  6. My Fair Lazy – I love Jen Lancaster! Can’t wait to read your review!

Leave a Reply

