Sunday Salon

Happy Sunday all! 

Most of you are probably busy wrapping p Bloggiesta.  I admit–I didn’t do one thing for my blog this weekend except write this post.  It’s just that I suck when it comes to blogs and technology and stuff.  I spend very little time on my blog and I doubt that will change anytime soon because even after almost a year, I al severly deficient in blogging “skills”.  I did get my Google Reader all sorted out and I am all caught up.  I vow to do much better with comments–I had been slacking recently but I will not let that happen again.  So, you see–the weekend was not an entire waste!

So . . . I got my new issue of Bookmarks Friday!  (If you don’t susbribe you should!!  Your TBR pile will hate you but it is a book lover’s crack).  I came home from work to find it in my mailbox.  Suffice it to say I was in a trance by the time my husband got home twenty minutes later.  I know have even more books on hold from the library!

Red Hook Road, by Ayelet Waldman

Lydia Cassatt Reading the Morning Paper, Harriet Scott Chessman

Every Last One, Anna Quindlen

Private Life, Jane Smiley

Imperfect Birds, Anne Lamott

Presumed Innocent, Scott Turow

A Ticket to the Circus, Norris Mailer

Last Call, Daniel Okrent

This issue had a large crime section which had me super excited–I have been fiending for good mysteries.  Unfirtunately, none of the books really drew me in, except the Scott Turow book–I have seen his books around a lot lately so I thought I’d give this one a try.  What caught your eye in this month’s Bookmarks?

This week was ok for my reading–nothing special.  I finished both Ruby Fruit Jungle, by Rita Mae Brown and What the Dead Know, by Laura Lippman.  They were both good but the latter was outstanding.  Have any of you read anything else by Lippman?  Her other books don’t pique my interest–none of the summaries really made me want to read more.  I am now reading The Dress Lodger, by Sheri Holman and I hope to finish it by the time the weekend is through.  It is fantastic–historical fiction at its finest.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Sunday.  I have too much to do and not enough time so we’ll see if I am able to get any reading done!

6 Responses

  1. I did read something by Lippman but I can’t remember the title–it was the one about the sisters that went missing. I was a bit disappointed–I had figured out the twist well before the end. But the writing was good enough to make me want to pick up another one of her books.

    Okay–how does one go about getting hold of that crack, Bookmark Friday?

  2. My tech geek skill are sorely lacking as well, so most of my bloggiesta-ing has to do with writing posts. I’m terrible about scheduling posts in advance, but I’m working on it.

  3. Ooh, Private Life looks good doesn’t it? I saw it yesterday at our Books A Million. I went home to see if our little library would have it. I was lucky and was able to put the audio version on hold. It is mine as soon as it comes in.

    I read Every Last One this year. Even though I didn’t love it at the time, it has stuck with me, and over time I find myself liking it more.

    Laura LIppman is good too. I read What the Dead Know a while ago and really enjoyed it.

    I hope you were able to get some reading done.

  4. What the Dead Know has been on my radar for some time now – glad to hear you liked it so much. I didn’t do anything for bloggiesta. There has just been too much going on at home lately to do much bloging. Didn’t even get to look at my Bookmarks yet! This week should be better…

  5. Hey! I’m not sure what happened to the Rubyfruit Jungle post, but it doesn’t appear to be here and that means it likely won’t show up in my reader again so I’m just going to leave you a comment here. 🙂 I just wanted to say I’m sorry it didn’t live up to its potential.

    • I accidently posted two reviews on one day. I was going to leave it but I guess I am too type A! It will be back on Tuesday for good. Have you read Rubyfruit Jungle? Even though it wasn’t my favorite, it was perfect for your challenge so you should definitely read it if you haven’t already.

Leave a Reply

