Sunday Salon

Welcome back everyone!  I know everyone is returning and recovering from BEA.  Despite the fact that I did not go to BEA, I took it easy last week when it came to my blog.  I had some prescheduled posts for Armchair BEA that were posted but I decided not to post any reviews just because there weren’t very many people around to read them!

I had planned to do a little book shopping to celebrate (not going to) BEA but I didn’t go all out.  I stopped at Half Price Books and picked up a few things Thursday during their Memorial Day sale.  I also got a TON of library book.

From Half Price Books:

The Sea, John Banville

The Night Watch, Sarah Waters

How the Garcia Girls Lost Thier Accents, Julia Alvarez

Ella Minnow Pea, Mark Dunn

Breaking Her Fall, Stephen Goodwin

From the Library:

Dismantled, Jennifer McMahon

Annie’s Baby, Anonymous

The Mysterious Affair at Styles, Agatha Christie

The Summeer Before, Ann M Martin

Letter to my Daughter, George Post

What the Dead Know, Laura Lippman

Kristy’s Great Idea, Ann M Martin and Raina Telgemeier

Admission, Jean Hanff Korelitz

Dawn, Ann M Martin

Little Billy’s Letters, Bill Geerhart

This week I finished Waiting for Columbus, by Thomas Trofimuk.  I then read Columbine, by Dave Cullen (absolutely wonderful book!). Friday, I began The 19th Wife, by David Ebershoff, which I am enjoying so far.  I also read some Baby-Sitters Club books this week–The Summer Before and Dawn, both by Ann M Martin and a graphic novel adaption of Kristy’s Great Idea by Ann M Martin, done by Raina Telgemeier.  So as far as reading, it’s been a very good week for me. 

I’m not sure how much reading I’ll get done over the rest of this holiday weekend.  My husband and I are having a cookout tomorrow for Memorial Day so we have a lot of work to do over the next day!  I hope everyone is getting back into the swing of things now that BEA is over.  Have a great Sunday and Memorial Day!

5 Responses

  1. The 19th Wife was among my absolute favorite books that I read last year. I thought it was wonderful. Looking forward to seeing what you think of it, too!

  2. You and BermudaOnion both got Ella Minnow Pea this week. I have that one and Elegance of the Hedgehog sitting out to decide what to read for my “E”book for the A-Z challenge. I’m thinking thsi is a sgin it should be Ella Minnow Pea!

  3. Book shopping, good reading and a cookout. Sounds like the perfect few days to me!

  4. Ooh, Ella Minnow Pea was really clever and fun. I also seriously enjoyed Night Watch by Sarah Waters – I’ve loved all her books and I really liked the backwards narrative of this one. I hope your Memorial Day cookout was fun!

  5. I love love love Ella Minnow Pea. I read that back when it first came out and thought it was so clever! I liked the graphic novel adaptation of the Baby Sitter’s Club too, it was great fun to revisit that series from my young adulthood. And I seriously need to try Sarah Waters!

Leave a Reply

