The Sunday Salon

Happy Mother’s Day everyone.  I am excited for brunch in a little bit with my own mom–yum.  Later on this week I’ll be traveling to New Orleans and getting married.  And then I will be . . . Mrs Borders!  How fitting is that–my new name will be that of the bookstore.  I plan on posting at least one review while I am gone.  Hopefully two if I finish my current book.

This week I read two books: Fun Home, by Alison Bechdel and The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, by Rebecca Skloot.  For those who haven’t read the latter, do it!!  All the rave reviews are true–this is a great book.  I am now reading The Little Giant of Aberdeen County, by Tiffany Baker.  After that, I will be reading Murder on the Orient Express, by Agatha Christie, followed by The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, by Stieg Larsson. 

I checked four books out from the library yesterday.

Rubyfruit Jungle, by Rita Mae Brown (for the GLBT challenge)

Blue Angel, by Francine Prose

Bad Things Happen, by Harry Dolan

Charity Girl, by Michael Lowenthal

I hope everyone has a great day.  I have to go to brunch now but afterwards I will be back to check out everyone else’s Sunday Salon!

7 Responses

  1. I can’t wait to read Henrietta Lacks, especially after I just heard yet another program about the whole story on Radio Lab. Have a wonder week–how exciting that you get to be Mrs. Borders!

  2. Mrs. Borders – that’s awesome!! 😀 Have a wonderful wedding!

  3. Mrs. Borders is awesome! I got stuck with Dandurand which has no literary connotations at all as far as I can tell. Congratulations!

  4. Congratulations on soon to be getting married! And how fun to go to New Orleans..I’ve always wanted to visit there myself. I love Agatha Christie so I’ll be interested in hearing your thoughts when you finish that one 🙂

  5. Brunch with your mom, New Orleans AND marriage! Wow. Congrats on all that, you are a lucky one 🙂

    I also read Fun Home, what did you think about it?

  6. Love your soon-to-be-new-last name! How absolutely perfect! Many congratulations to you and all best wishes on your marriage!

  7. I’m glad to hear Henrietta was a success!

    And congrats on the upcoming wedding!

Leave a Reply

