Book Review: Fun Home

Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic

Alison Bechdel

Mariner Books

232 pages

Discovering your sexuality with the family funeral home as a backdrop?  Count me in!

Alison Bechdel grew up in the 1960s and ’70s with an eccentric father who was, unbeknownst to Bechdel at the time, gay.  He was a high school English teacher who moonlighted as a funeral director.  They lived in a home that Bechdel’s father painstakingly restored.  Bechdel was a bonafide tomboy who refused her father’s attempts to turn her into a girly girl.  Her parents were constantly fighting and her father was in and out of trouble with the law because of his behavior with teenage boys.

Meanwhile, Bechdel slowly begins to realize her sexuality as a lesbian.  Her awknowledgement of her sexual preference plays a big role in the book because she is grappling with her own sexuality as well as her father.  Not long after she tells her parent’s of her sexuality, her father is hit by a truck and killed under somewhat suspicious circumstances. 

Prospective readers, beware.  This book is extremely graphic when it comes to sexual content.  Bechdel goes so far as to depict herself involved in sexual acts.  I didn’t have an issue with that, although I was embarassed for Bechdel when thinking of her family seeing those pictures, cartoon or not! I guess when you look at it, it just shows that she is willing to expose any part of herself in order to produce a memoir that is brutally honest.

This was only my second graphic novel.  They’re a nice break when you want an easier read.  Even though the topics can be just as serious as a written book, they are still much easier to read.

I read this book as part of the GLBT challenge, hosted by the wonderful Amanda over at The Zen Leaf.

Other Reviews:

Book Addiction

Farm Lane Books Blog

things mean a lot

The Zen Leaf

I borrowed this book from my local library.

4 Responses

  1. I still don’t know why I couldn’t connect with this book… :/

  2. Even if I could draw, there is no way I could draw myself in a sex act!!! I’m intrigued by this book … she sounds like a she has a powerful story.

  3. I have this on my TBR pile as I bought it for myself for my birthday. I’m really interested to see how I react to it. Thanks for the review!

  4. I am a memoir junkie, but like you, sometimes wonder about how family members feel when someone is that open. This book intrigues me.

Leave a Reply

