The Sunday Salon: Slacker Classics Circuit Post

Time for my completely shameful discussion.  I did not read Nana, by Emila Zola.  Therefore, if you are checking here for my Classics Tour review, you will be sorely disappointed.  I feel like a student who missed a major assignment.  Let me start in with the excuses.  I just got back from vacation a week ago.  I have been moving since then, with the whole shebang culminating with a movie truck yesterday.  Yada yada yada. 

I made it through about 30 pages of Nana before deciding to put it down.  There was nothing bad about the book that caused me to put it down.  You know how when your life gets hectic, you have no desire to read something difficult or time consuming.  Or is that just me?  I came to the conclusion this week that I don’t like to be bogged down with my reading when I feel overwhelmed with life.  After working all day and packing all evening, the last thing I wanted was a slow, time consuming book, which is why it took me three days to read thirty pages of Nana.  I finally decided I must admit defeat and read something that would provide me with an escape.  So I picked up Wishful Drinking, by Carrie Fisher.  In two words: it sucked.  That is not generally my response to books like that: think Tucker Max and Chelsea Handler.  However, Fisher’s tone grated on my nerves.  She seemed insincere and trite, which is too bad because her parents seemed interesting and the pictures were cool.  So then I picked up MudboundMudbound would not necessarily be classified as an easy read but it IS readable.  I feel like I can’t put it down.  In fact, I am writing this post on Friday since I will be moving all weekend, so I may have (hopefully) finished reading it by the time this is posted!

As for the next few weeks, I have no scheduled readings, except for my Agatha Christie book for the Golden Age of Detective tour (which I WILL be reading I swear!!).  Other than that, I plan to just read what grabs me.  My fiance and I moved all my books Thursday night and I kept seeing books that I really wanted to read or books I had no recollection of ever seeing, let alone acquiring. 

Finally, let me say bravo to all you read-a-thon participants.  I am bummed I wasn’t able to participate.  I had hoped to cheer some of you on for awhile—I can’t say at this point whether or not I was successful!!  In fact, I doubt anyone is reading this post—you’re probably all recovering from your long reading hours.

6 Responses

  1. I hope you try Zola again some time in the future. Sorry life’s been crazy, t hough. :/

  2. I know what you mean about not being able to read classics with so much real life going on. I tried last month and it just didn’t work with everything else. I like Zola so I do hope you try again!

    I read Wishful Drinking for the Read-a-Thon – glad it wasn’t just me that didn’t like it all that much. I think it must work much better as a stand-up act than a genuine memoir.

  3. I wouldn’t be able to read anything really heavy in the midst of moving myself. I hope you enjoy Mudbound as it is one that I’ve been wanting to read myself.

  4. Sounds like life is pretty crazy right now, so I can see why Zola might not be a good reading choice. Like the others, I do hope you give him another try. Therese Raquin was one of my favorites last year, and I really like The Ladies’ Paradise so far. I need to get busy reading though… my review is scheduled for Saturday and I still have almost half the book left!

  5. LOL yeah, sounds like it wasn’t the right week for Zola! Maybe another time?

  6. Hope the move went well. I think sometimes we get carried away with the notion that we “have” to read a book. But let’s be serious–we’re all doing this because we love to read and if we’re not loving it, then we’ve probably got the wrong book.

Leave a Reply

