Book Review: The Girl Who Played with Fire

The Girl Who Played with Fire

Stieg Larsson

Vintage

656 pages

Man, was I upset when I finished this book! It was a good feeling though, because I was upset that the book was over. I don’t generally have such strong feelings towards a book that I rue over it for a week after finishing it.

Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist are back! They aren’t really on speaking terms, so the reader is pretty much caught in the middle of their fissure. Lisbeth has taken off for the year following the Wennerstrom affair, with no goodbye to anyone. As she’s flitting about in the Caribbean, Mikael is beginning to uncover the dangerous story of sex trafficking in Sweden , which is scheduled to be exposed by Millennium. However, it quickly becomes apparent that there are people out there who do not want their stories revealed. Cue the murder and mayhem.

Somehow, Lisbeth gets herself involved in the middle of some vicious killings. Within the blink of eye, she has transformed into suspected serial killer and murderer. We all know Lisbeth has special skills, and she uses those to stay hidden. She and Mikael eventually begin speaking again through a word program on Mikael’s computer, once he has realized Lisbeth’s been hacking onto his computer. Even at that point, when she begins to trust him again, Lisbeth continues to be insanely secretive. I don’t even know that she was doing it purposely—it seemed so nonchalant.

That’s what got me going about Lisbeth. Her whole world is crashing down around her, yet she’s as cool as a cucumber, or seemingly so. Mikael is practically begging her to reveal what she knows about the murders and she plays games with him. That was part of the fun, I suppose. The reader never knew what was going on. I think I must have wavered back and forth over Lisbeth’s innocence or guilt throughout the whole book. Nothing was apparent—a lot of the time I was just trying to figure out connections between the victims, the other characters, and so on and so forth.

It is such a shame that Larsson was unable to finish the Millennium series. I would have read each and every one. From what I understand, although there was an uncompleted manuscript for the fourth book, the series will end with The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest and the fourth book will remain unpublished.

I was lucky enough to be in the middle of The Girl Who Played with Fire for my transatlantic flight last week because, let me tell you, it is riveting. I am so glad I had hours to devote to it. I loved The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, but I think it was surpassed by Fire. I can’t wait to read the third book, which I already have waiting for me!

Other Reviews:

Fyrefly’s Book Blog

S Krishna’s Books

You’ve GOTTA Read This!

Another Cookie Crumbles

The Literate Housewife Review

I purchased this book from Barnes & Noble

One Response

  1. I so loved these! I was so into the series after “The Girl Who Played with Fire” that I had to order the “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest” from Amazon UK. It was worth i!

Leave a Reply

