Sunday Salon

I’m ba-ack!  Happy Easter everyone!  I had a ball in Florence.  It was absolutely amazing and I had fun spending the week with my three sisters, my mother and my aunt.  Unfortunately, my camera would not charge, so I have to depend on family members for photos, which I do not have as of yet.  Hopefully next Sunday!

As for reading on my trip, I read two books–most of which was the result of my transatlantic flight to and from Italy: The Girl Who Played with Fire, by Stieg Larssen and Murder of a Medici Princess, by Caroline Murphy.  The latter was kind of painful for me.  I found it too dry and boring.  The former was wonderful–better than the first book even.  And I read it just in time because look what I got in the mail–

I am so excited!!  At the same time, I am going to wait awhile to read it since it is the last book in the series . . . I love these books so much and I wish there were more!

Since I got back from Florence Friday night, I have been in a reading funk.  Not sure if it’s the result of reading for so long on the flight or if I am just too busy with other things to pick up a book.  I had started reading Wolf Hall again and now have read over 200 pages but I wasn’t enjoying it as much as when I first started reading it, so I decided to put it down for the time being.  I am now trying to focus on Nana, by Emile Zola, since my tour stop is in a few days, but so far I am not in the mood to read more than a page or two.  Hopefully I get back in my groove soon.

Now I am off to check out and comment on some blogs, of which I have been very remiss about in the past week or two.  Happy Sunday and Easter everyone!!

9 Responses

  1. I’m glad you had a great time in Florence. I was there a couple of years back and I loved it. I might have to check out Stieg Larsson’s series. Everyone is raving about it.

  2. I’m glad you had fun! And I’m jealous of your trip. I’ve heard mixed reviews on Wolf Hall, so I’m not sure I’m going to try it out.

  3. Very curious about Zola. I’m heading to Paris this summer and I’m wondering if I should seek out a little Zola.

    Today is the last chance to become a follower at my blog and leave a comment to try to win one of two $10 Amazon gift certificates. Stop in today!

    http://www.readerbuzz.blogspot.com

  4. Glad you had such a good time and will look forward to the pictures!

  5. I’m jealous on so many levels – the trip to Flornece – wow! and then you got the new Steig Larsson book – I want it!!! Welcome home!

  6. Welcome back!

    After you have enjoyed a book so much, it can be hard to follow that with another good one. Seems like the sequel arrived just in time :-).

  7. I think I’m going to end up being the last person on Earth who reads this series. I’m still ambivalent because everyone says it’s so wonderful, but then also says there’s a lot of abuse and harsh scenes.

  8. Glad to hear you had such a great trip. How frustrating about your camera! I hate having to depend on other people to get the shots I want and get them to me.

  9. Ohhh Florence! I am jealous. Too fun! Especially with all girls? Wow!

    I LOVE the Stieg Larsson books – and each time I think of them feel bad because of his untimely death. I read somewhere that he had 10 books planned for the series – and that there was one on his laptop when he died….. Oh, the intrigue!

Leave a Reply

