Product Review: Read, Remember, Recommend

Read, Remember, Recommend: A Reading Journal for Book Lovers

Rachelle Rogers Knight

Bibliopages

236 pages

I am sure most of my fellow bibliophiles are a lot like me–you’ve tested out pretty much of reading journal out there.  Everyone I know is aware of the fact that I love to read, so reading journals are a gift I’ve received more than once.  In that respect, I was unsure of whether Read, Remember, Recommend would bring something to the table that the other journals wouldn’t.

I realized right away that RRR is, above everything else, a great resource.  The first section of the journal deals exclusively and extensively with literature awards.  It lists each award with prior winners and spaces to write in this years and next years winners.  Some of the awards were obvious–Pulitzer, Man Booker, etc.  But then there were awards that I have never heard of.  Governor General’s Literary Awards, James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction, Miles Franklin Literary Award . . . the list goes on and on.  There was also a list of good book club picks sorted by subject.  At the end of the section, there is a spot where you can list what books you want to read, own or recommend. 

There are also journal pages where you can pen reviews or just general thoughts.  This is followed by pages where you can list books you’d like to recommend and to whom, as well as pages where you can keep track of books you have loaned out of borrowed.  There is also a glossary with literary terms as well as tons of resources, including book blogs!  Some of my favorite blogs are mentioned! BermudaOnion’s Weblog, Booking Mama and Linus’s Blanket, to name a few. How cool is that!!

The journal itself was written and compiled by Rachelle Rogers Knight at Bibliobabe.com.  If, like me, you are unfamiliar with this blog, I urge you to check it out–it’s a great blog. 

Overall, this journal is a terrific resource.  Definitely better than any reading journal I have come across thus far.  I will definitely make it a part of my library as well as keeping it in mind as a gift for other bibliophiles.

Other Reviews:

Lesa’s Book Critiques

The Novel World

The Bookworm

A Garden Carried in the Pocket

Pop Culture Junkie

I received this journal from the publisher for review.

5 Responses

  1. This looks like so much fun. I have never had a reading journal that was bought in a store. I always kept blank notebooks with notes on what I had written for a day or so before I abandoned them, so I am looking forward to trying it out.
    I got an e-mail saying that I had been included, but I haven’t seen it yet, so I don’t now how comprehensive the list is or who else is on it, so thanks for giving me a few hints and for mentioning me in your post!

  2. I’ll look for this. Very cool to see mention of familiar blogs!

  3. I want one!! It sounds like a great idea.

  4. I think I may have to buy this journal. I keep a journal with the books I have read and how I felt about them. This would be fun to use too. Love that some of our favorite bloggers are mentioned in it!

  5. I’ve never received a reading journal before and this is my first one. I really love it! Like most other people, the first section which is the awards and lists section is my favourite part.

    I’m definitely going to enjoy using it for a long time. So many good books listed in there too! 🙂

    Here is my review of the journal. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

