Sunday Salon

Happy Valentine’s Day everyone!

Our Valentine’s Day is pretty low key.  We have Ally this weekend, so we are just planning on going out to dinner (at The Melting Pot–one of my favorites!) tomorrow night once she has gone home.

This was a pretty slow reading week for me in the sense that I only finished one book.  The Women, by TC Boyle, is pretty long and involved (about 450 pages) but definitely worth it.  It is the fictional retelling of the love life of Frank Lloyd Wright.  For those of you that have read Loving Frank, by Nancy Horan, this is very similar but it also goes into the two marriages Frank has following the death of Mamah Cheney.  I have about thirty pages left, so I should finish the book later on today.  I will then be reading, in this order,

Passing, by Nella Larsen.  This is for The Classics Circuit.  Watch for my tour stop on February 19.

The Shack, by William P Young.  This is for my book club meeting on February 23.

Amy and Isabelle, Elizabeth Strout

I hope everyone else had a good week!

4 Responses

  1. Happy Valentine’s Day! The Melting Pot sounds fun and yummy!

  2. I’ve never read anything by TC Boyle. I should do that someday.

  3. T.C. Boyle is so talented! I’m looking forward to reading The Women. My book club read The Shack last year – we had an interesting discussion.

  4. I read Tortilla Curtain by TC Boyle and loved it – I immediately resolved to read more of his books. Thus far, I haven’t read anymore but I would be interested to read your review of The Women.

    Enjoy the Melting Pot!

Leave a Reply

