Library Loot

Library Loot is a weekly meme hosted by Marg and Eva.

I finally started feeling as if I were no longer overwhelmed by the amount of library books I had checked out.  Obviously I felt the need to remedy that, since I went out and got eight books.

O. Juliet, by Robin Maxwell.  I first saw this book on Devourer of Books last week and I figured it would be perfect to read before my trip to Florence next month.

Lost, byJaqueline Davies.  I saw this one on Hey Lady! Watcha Readin’?

The Birth of Venus, by Sarah Dunant.  This is another book I got in anticipation of my trip to Florence.

Mortician Diaries, June Knights Nadle

American Rust, by Philipp Meyer.  This title has been around a lot but I really took notice after reading the review on The Bluestocking Society.

Mudbound, by Hillary Jordan.  After reading the review on Lesley’s Book Nook, I immediately reserved this one.

Wishful Drinking, by Carrie Fisher.  I have been eyeing this one for awhile–looks funny!

Polaroids From the Dead, byDouglas Coupland.  This one came from Stuff as Dreams are Made On . . .

So what did you pick up this week?

4 Responses

  1. Oooh, Mudbound…I LOVED that book. Many different narrators, but all of them well done.

  2. Mudbound sounds really good! I’ve heard good things about a lot of these but haven’t read any of them myself. Enjoy!

  3. I’ve recently added Mudbound and American Rust to my list, too. I have an award for you:
    http://lakesidemusing.blogspot.com/2010/02/winter-awards-sharing-love.html

  4. Mudbound is a very worthy read. I also just loved American Rust. Very moving and really made me think. I also liked The Birth of Venus, but I’m so-so on Robin Maxwell (although I seem to be one of the few bloggers who isn’t in love with her work.)

Leave a Reply

