Mailbox Monday

Mailbox Monday is a weekly meme hosted by Marcia of The Printed Page.

You may have noticed that I haven’t been posting as many Mailbox Monday posts as before.  If you assumed it was because I have been behaving myself, you would be correct.  My goal in 2010 is to try to focus more on the review copies and books that I have purchased before accepting more review copies or buying more books.  I have been overloaded recently.  So I have been doing pretty well on that front.  However, my fiance and I went to Target the other night and, as always, I couldn’t pass the book section without stopping to peruse a little bit.  Finally, my fiance looked at me and said Fine, you can buy one book if you want.  Honestly, I didn’t know what to do–my eyes glanced furiously over all the titles I coveted and quickly, I snatched up this one.

I have seen it on some great reviews for it recently on other blogs, plus the copy I bought has a little sticker on the front that says Pen/Faulkner Award for Fiction Finalist, so I figured it must be legit.

What about you?  Been behaving yourself?!

7 Responses

  1. I hope it’s good. I still haven’t read a Ron Rash book but I have friends who love his style.

  2. I’ve heard that this one is amazing. I’ve been trying like mad to be as good as I can and while I’m not sure it’s working, I am giving it my best shot. 🙂

  3. I’ve heard Serena is a great book, too. I can’t wait to see what you think of it.

  4. It does look that way! Look forward to your review!

    Mondays: Mailbox/Whereabouts/Musings

  5. I really need to institute a similar book stoppage. My bookshelves are getting a bit overwhelmed lately.

    This book sounds interesting–I haven’t seen it before.

  6. This was one of my favorite books last year. Very dark. Very Shakesperean.

  7. I read this last year and had mixed feelings but ultimately glad I read it and I was engrossed throughout the entire story. It definitely would provide ample fodder for discussion so I may suggest it as a book club pick at some future point.

    Congrats on being a well-behaved book blogger! 😉

    I am behaving myself when it comes to my reading resolution (sort of), which is not to buy any new books. I haven’t, but I have borrowed more from the library than from my own shelves than I’d like.

Leave a Reply

