Teaser Tuesday: The Dead of Night

teasertuesdays31 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser this week comes from John Marsden’s The Dead of Night, book #2 in the Tomorrow series.

In order not to spoil book #1 for those of you who haven’t read it, I will only quote a brief excerpt from School Library Journal just so you can get a feel of what the series is about.

A few months have passed since Ellie and six of her friends returned from a camping trip deep in the Australian outback to find their country invaded by an unidentified, non-English-speaking nation.

My teaser (which is the opening paragraph of the book and does not spoil book #1 either, for those of you who haven’t read it).

Damn this writing.  I’d rather sleep.  God how I’d love to sleep.  It’s been a long time since I had a peaceful night’s sleep.  Not since I went to Hell.  Since I went to that complicated place called Hell.

7 Responses

  1. Well I am intrigued. On one level it doesn’t sound like my sort of book – but I do like the concept.

  2. Hmmm… not sure what to make of that one!

    My teaser is here
    Have a great week and happy reading!

  3. I’m about to google this series because it sounds awesome. Here’s my teaser.

  4. That certainly has grabbed my attention.

    My Teaser can be found HERE

Leave a Reply

