Sunday Salon

As I anticipated, this week was somewhat slow for me.  I was reading Sylvia’s Lovers, by Elizabeth Gaskell, for the Classics Circuit.  Classics always take me longer to read, and at 500 pages, it took me six days to read this one.  I finished it last night and moved on to Speak, by Laurie Halse Anderson.  I just finished that moments ago, so that leaves me with two books this week, which is pretty average.

My review on Sylvia’s Lovers will be posted a week from tomorrow and my review on The Woman in White, by Wilkie Collins (also for the Classics Circuit) will be posted on Black Friday, so watch for both of those.

I have been feeling a bit overwhelmed recently by both my review copies and my library books.  I have 20 review copies and 17 library books to read right now.  Because both piles are beginning to stack up, I have decided to devote the next two weeks to only review copies and library books.  Which means I will not be reading any Bookswim books or any books that I own.  Speak was from the library, so it was nice to knock out one library book this morning.

I have also decided to join two challenges. The first one is:

It is hosted by J Kaye’s Book Blog and the info can be found here.

I will be going for the Stepping it Up level, which is fifty YA novels.  I think that is doable in a year’s time but we shall see.

I have also signed up for the 2010 challenge at Bart’s Bookshelf.

The goal is to read two books from each of ten separate categories.  The categories are as follows.

  1. Young Adult
    Any book classified as young adult or featuring a teenage protagonist counts for this category.
  2. T.B.R. **
    Intended to help reduce the old T.B.R. pile. Books for this category must be already residents of your bookshelves as of 1/11/09.
  3. Shiny & New
    Bought a book NEW during 2010 from a bookstore, online, or a supermarket? Then it counts for this category. Second-hand books do not count for this one, but, for those on book-buying bans, books bought for you as gifts or won in a giveaway also count!
  4. Bad Blogger’s ***
    Books in this category, should be ones you’ve picked up purely on the recommendation of another blogger count for this category (any reviews you post should also link to the post that convinced you give the book ago).
    *** Bad Bloggers: Is hosted by Chris of Stuff as Dreams are Made on.
  5. Charity
    Support your local charity shops with this category, by picking up books from one of their shops. Again, for those on book-buying bans, books bought for you as gifts also count, as long as they were bought from a charity shop.
  6. New in 2010
    This category is for those books newly published in 2010 (whether it be the first time it is has been released, or you had to wait for it to be published in your country, it counts for this one!)
  7. Older Than You
    Read two books that were published before you were born, whether that be the day before or 100 years prior!
  8. Win! Win!
    Have a couple of books you need to read for another challenge? Then this is the category to use, as long that is, you don’t break the rules of the other challenge by doing so! ;)
  9. Who Are You Again?
    This one isn’t just for authors you’ve never read before, this is for those authors you have never even heard of before!
  10. Up to You!
    The requirements for this category are up to you! Want to challenge yourself to read some graphic novels? A genre outside your comfort zone? Something completely wild and wacky? Then this is the category to you. The only requirement is that you state it in your sign-up post.

More information can be found here.

As for current challenges, I am officially dropping out of the Fall into Reading challenge.  Why, you may ask.  Well, it has been over two months, with one month left in the challenge, and I still have not read one single book on my list!  Pretty pathetic!

As for today, I hope to get some reading done but there is quite a bit of laundry and other chores that need to be done.  I am not too worried because I should get a good amount of reading done this week anyway, with Thankfully Reading coupled with the fact that I will have a lot of time off of work for the holiday.

What do you plan on reading today?

8 Responses

  1. That 20-10 challenge looks interesting, but too difficult for me. I’m trying to stay low stress.

  2. Good luck with the challenges! I can’t wait to see your review of Speak since I loved it.

  3. I’m planning to join the 2010 challenge too. 🙂

  4. I’m doing laundry, too. Bleh. In between, I’m trying to decide what my next book will be.

  5. I am so glad to know that I’m not the only that has let the review copies pile up so high! My friend and fellow blogger about fell of her seat laughing at me (definitely not with me) when I told her I had 18 books waiting for reviews. And that was before 2 more books arrived this week.

  6. Don’t you just hate it when laundry and other housework gets in the way of reading?

  7. Have fun with the challenges! I’m definitely eyeing Darren’s and will probably end up joining, lol

  8. That is an impressive number of challenges! I still haven’t decided how many to sign up to yet, but I don’t think it will be as many as you.

Leave a Reply

