Teaser Tuesday: Sylvia’s Lovers

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser this week is from Sylvia’s Lovers, by Elizabeth Gaskell, which I am reading for the Classics Circuit.

Sylvia was full of the specksioneer and his stories, when Hepburn came to give her the next lesson.  But the prospect of a little sensible commendation for writing a whole page of flourishing “Abednegos”, had lost the slight charm it had ever possessed.  She was much more inclined to try and elicit some sympathy in her interest in the perils and adventures of the northern seas, than to bend and control her mind to the right formation of letters.

12 Responses

  1. Now that is interesting. I’ve only read Cranford and some short stories but I like the look of this very much.

  2. So far this year I’ve read: Mary Barton, Cranford, Wives and Daughters, and North and South by Gaskell. I’ve enjoyed them all. I’m adding Silvia’s Lovers to my to be read list. Thanks!

    My teaser is here.

  3. It has been a long time since I have read this book. Excellent tease. My TT: http://www.rundpinne.com/2009/11/joy-teaser-tuesdays.html

  4. I’ll be starting Cranford soon, but haven’t heard of Sylvia’s Lovers. The Classics Circuit is great!

  5. This sounds interesting.

    Here is mine

  6. Thanks for visiting my blog. I just posted my review of The Swan Thieves if you’re interested. http://thecrowdedleaf.wordpress.com/

  7. Never heard of Sylvia’s Lovers … I’ll have to do some looking in to that.

    My Teaser is HERE

  8. That’s a wonderful teaser–it captures the essence (the love triangle) of Sylvia’s Lovers perfectly. I’ll be interested in hearing how you like the story as you progress through it.

Leave a comment